As a rule of thumb, I generally prefer burgers, fries, and pasta over Asian dishes like noodles, sweet and sour pork, and steamed fish. Oh gawd I hate steamed fish. My family is Cantonese and somehow that means I’m supposed to love it and my stomach will eviscerate itself if I don’t have steamed fish for dinner every night, but honestly my body and I are perfectly happy without it.

It’s not that I don’t like Asian food or anything… I just really love fries and burgers.

There is one exception to my Western food > Asian food rule however, and that is rice and curry. I love rice and curry.

Ain’t nothing yummier than creamy curry over rice.

I don’t know what it is, but there’s some about rice soaked in creamy curry that makes my mouth water. It’s so tasty that I’d be perfectly content eating this on its own, without any meat, potatoes, carrots or anything.

Creamy curry, not that watery oily stuff, is just all kinds of yum. I don’t care if it’s Indian butter chicken, Japanese curry, Balinese or Chinese curry. As long as it’s got that creamy texture, I’m going to stuff my cheeks with that stuff like a hamster. During my one-week vacation in Bali, I ate that almost every single day.

Yummy yummy butter chicken! Image/recipe source: Yes We Cook

And it’s a combination of both factors. Curry on its own is tasty, but somehow it just doesn’t fill your mouth with enough substance to really match up with the flavors.

Bits of meat dipped in curry gives you that substance, but then it’s not soft and fluffy any more, and sometimes that meat can be too chewy for its own good. Potatoes and carrot chunks don’t soak up the curry well, so you have to scoop that stuff really quickly if you’re going to get any curry in your mouth.

But rice? It soaks up that flavor and it gives you that satisfying feeling of having stuffed hamster cheeks full of curry!

Image source: Corbis

And to top it off, here’s Dr Bombay and his 1998 hit single “Rice and Curry”. That said, isn’t it insane that a Swedish guy can simultaneously get away with a racist impersonation, and extremely irritating and crappy techno music?

Mickey Rooney’s Japanese guy character in Breakfast at Tiffany’s was bad enough, but this has annoying techno pop to go with!

About Drew

I love my kids, my wife movies and video games (in no particular order). Sometimes my dog too, but he likes to stink up my pillow these days.

6 responses »

  1. I love curry as well. Any and all types! But it has to be over Basmati rice.

  2. Alvin says:

    I love me some curry too – can’t resist it with bread.

  3. TheSecretary says:

    I love Curry. It took forever to get the local grocery here to get the spices and such I would need to make my own curry, but when I was finally able to do so, it was delicious. Heavenly delicious as the rice soaked up all that goodness.
    Tonight I am making curry and after seeing this page, makes me wish work was already over so I could go home and begin to cook.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!