Recently I saw an article on Kotaku about a World of Warcraft player who leveled their neutral Pandaren to the maximum level cap of 90. This means he never left the starting zone (meant to go up to level 15 only) and had to slowly gain xp from collecting plants; a tedious process that took him over half a year.

Now it’s not something I would’ve done myself, but I still found myself feeling really offended when all these people started giving him crap for wasting his time and not doing something more productive… As if shoving your hate at someone on the Internet is productive!

hatersgonnahate

Yes, this really achieved nothing of consequence, but this person had an idea and a goal, and he stuck to it. The regular game can get quite grindy and repetitive as it is, but he stuck to the same bottom level stuff for half a year to achieve his goal. He or she did something that made him/her happy, and it was something that was of no harm to anybody.

Besides, when was the last time you stuck to an ideal and didn’t give up?

As I write this, I freely admit that I missed a morning run that I set for myself because I slept in. How many goals have you given up on because you decided you had something else better to do or just plain wussed out on?

Achievement are personal. I don’t care if it’s unlocking all the achievements in Arkham City or stacking plastic cups really quickly; it doesn’t matter what you want to do as long as you set out to do it and see it to the end.

Don’t let some quitter on the Internet tell you otherwise. Haters gonna hate.

PS My infant daughter just figured out how to properly stack the rings on her toy stacker and would happily cheer after she does it. If anyone tries to downplay her joy with their negativity, I’ll shove the stacker in their ass and make them eat the rings until they solve it in their stomach.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

6 responses »

  1. The internet is full of trolls. People are dicks because they think they can do so in the safety of anonymity. Setting personal goals is great for growth and to satisfy our own peculiarities. But also, don’t be mad at yourself for failing, just try again. I’ve given myself the goal of exercising every day before work. Either weights or an walk up a local mountain. But the last few days, I’ve started work super early so haven’t found time to exercise. You do what you can.

    • Drew says:

      Keep it up! Daily exercise sounds great and it’s something I’m trying to do too. Once it becomes a routine it’s much easier, though I’m personally just quite a habitual creature.

  2. Janus says:

    I’ve told myself for a couple of months now that I should start to jog in the wee hours of the morning. But I always end up dozing off in bed again. haha. Thank your for inspiring me to a healthier lifestyle again. LOL.

    Blog hopping! Cheers!

    • Drew says:

      I say go for it! The greatest effort is throwing yourself out of bed, but once you do it’s pretty easy from then on. I must say it’s become a habit that I’ve grown to enjoy. Do you Instagram? I put up one shot of the morning environment every time I go out. It’s just another way to motivate myself. I wish you luck with your morning jogs!

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

