A while back, you guys might remember I posted about how much I love my puffy skate shoes, and the immense satisfaction I had for not needing to wear leather shoes to work in any of my career choices. Then, judging from the multiple posts I made about job-hunting, you would have probably deduced that I have been looking for a new job… especially since my previous animation studio decided to shut down on us.

My beloved puffy skate shoes

My beloved puffy skate shoes

Well, the good news is that I’ve found a new job as a social media manager, which is a bit of a departure from being an animator. Guess all that time spent being a magazine editor didn’t go to waste after all! But part of the new gig is that I’ve finally gone fully corporate, and now I’m going to work every day wearing leather shoes and shirt-shirts.

Imagine that… last year I was wearing shorts and sandals to work, and now I look like a legitimate employee of a legitimate company. Though I did have to do quite a bit of shopping to do so, as all of my old “proper clothes” mysteriously shrank while in storage for the last few years – I think I have some gremlins in my wardrobe whittling away the threads in my pants.

My new daily footwear for work

My new daily footwear for work

So these days, I wear leather shoes to work every day. I dreaded this part, but I guess I got lucky when I found a pair of Hush Puppies that are actually pretty comfortable. All of my old leather shoes, even the ones I wore to high school, have always felt like wearing iron maidens on your feet, or having my feet bound up like a Chinese concubine in ancient China. I can’t imagine doing that again on a daily basis!

Does it feel any different? Well, I get stopped by credit card salespeople on the street more often now, and I know why it’s called “office wear” and not “comfortable for walking longer distances in the Singapore heat wear”, but otherwise I’m glad I’ve got a stable job now at a place where I enjoy what I do.

Hope everyone is well! With any luck, I can keep posting fairly regularly again.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

17 responses »

  1. tlf says:

    Way to go Drew!

  2. Congrats on the new job. I like being comfortable, sure. But I love looking good too. I’m not a slave to fashion trends, but if something looks flattering, it gets a good run. I can’t say I feel sorry for men and their ever so slightly uncomfortable shoes. You ought to walk a mile in some of my shoes! And foot binding wasn’t all that ancient. My great grandmother had her feet bound and that would have “only” been the start of the 1900’s.

    • Drew says:

      Strangely, my sister-in-law claims that her feet feel much more comfortable in big heels than flats. But yeah, I don’t even need to put on a pair of women’s shoes to know they’re uncomfortable. There isn’t space for any puffy padding at all!

  3. mistylayne says:

    Congrats on the new job! That’s one of my jobs (but I work from home so no leather shoes ;)). Have fun with it!

  4. DrDes says:

    You certainly did not sell out! You are being a responsible parent for Beanie and you should be proud of yourself!

    I too have that issue with gremlins in my wardrobe. They have been working overtime on those threads lately!

    • Drew says:

      I’m actually quite okay with selling out. It’s nice to work in an office environment, have business cards, and you know, get paid ON TIME without needing to threaten your boss with legal action.

  5. Spiffy shoes! And be thankful that high heels aren’t mandatory for you 🙂

  6. The Secretary says:

    Congrats on your new job and welcome to the corporate world of shiny shoes and restrictive clothing!
    Thankfully i get to wear comfy shoes. Being a front desk nerd my feet are hidden and my boss says I can wear sneakers on Thursday’s and Fridays. Whoot!
    But Monday thru Wednesday, I have men black leather shoes. Men shoes are so comfy and roomier than women shoes. (Have to buy men shoes as my feet are wide.)

    • Drew says:

      Hahah I only get to wear my puffy shoes on Fridays. Lucky you! Try Hush Puppies. They really are comfy (for leather shoes, that is).

  7. renxkyoko says:

    Congratulations !

  8. Mitzie Mee says:

    Yay! Congratulations! Social media manager sound like lots of fun:) Btw. I also suspect that those Gremlins hide in my closet and shrink my clothes…sooo annoying:/

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

