I’m not sure if this is an Asian woman thing, but my mom likes to listen to the worst advice. I recently attended this talk at some neuroscience convention, and while I didn’t understand most of what was said, I did come away with “exercise = good, because no exercise => vascular disease => depression => dementia”.

So I’m trying to explain to my mom that she really needs to include more exercise into her lifestyle for her own good, and she’s basically just side-stepping the issue and ignoring me.

timthumb

That on its own is pretty annoying, and it’s part of the reason why talking to my mother is sometimes such an exercise in frustration. But what’s even more annoying is that one of her gossipy friends could tell her that wearing a jade bangle and drinking ginseng tea while facing the north wind can prevent cancer, and you know what I’ll find her doing the next day? Standing there with a jade bangle, a cup of ginseng tea and a compass.

So in her mind, medical science is not worth paying attention to, while whatever Mrs Loo says is like the fucking word of god or something.

Argh!!!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

12 responses »

  1. paralaxvu says:

    I discovered a long time ago that, whether the advice was good or bad, if it came from her own children it wasn’t worth listening to. So I finally gave up. The Serenity Prayer is very good for children too;-)

  2. mistylayne says:

    It’s not just your mom, lol, I think it’s EVERYBODY.

  3. renxkyoko says:

    We happen to follow each other’s advice. Well, at least 70% of the time. My Mom is a licensed pharmacist, Dad is chemist, and older sister is a microbiologist, so if for example Sis says we have to throw away that leftover food in the fridge because of some microscopic bacteria, we better follow or if Mom warns us about some drugs, we stop and at least listen.

  4. Sven says:

    To be honest, reading those instructions on the ginseng tea made it sound like so much work that I’d just say “screw this, I’m going for a jog”. Maybe that’s the plan all along? :p

  5. Mitzie Mee says:

    I agree with the above comments..it’s a universal mom thing:) My mom always seems to find the articles where it’s stated that chocolate and red wine is good for your health (avoiding the ones where it’s emphasized that it’s only if consumed in small quantities:)

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

