Hypothetical situation:

You’ve been trying your whole adolescent life trying to write a good song. One day while strumming your well-used guitar, you finally managed to pour your heart and soul into some lyrics and write a pretty good song.

Three music producers approach you for the rights to your song, with different intentions for it.

  1. The first one wants to turn your lyrics into the hook of a rap song.
  2. The second wants to turn it into a cheap techno dance song, because he thinks it’ll be a club hit.
  3. The third guy will record the song as is, but it will be the lead single on the soundtrack of a cheap movie that’s offensively bad.

So here’s the question: Which producer will you go with?

Not sleazy at all!

Not sleazy at all!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

10 responses »

  1. Vividhunter says:

    Interesting conundrum. Why?

    • Drew says:

      I overheard some terrible dance music on the radio the other day, and I was thinking to myself “Those lyrics actually sound like they were written by a human being. Poor thing…”

      • Vividhunter says:

        What? You think the words, “Barbra Streisand” weren’t written by a human being? 😛

        So what would you choose?

      • Drew says:

        I dunno… I’d probably go with the rap thing. It worked out well for Skyler Gray with the “Love the way you lie” thing with Eminem and Rihanna, and she did get to do her own stuff after that.

        I know some soundtracks do better than their movies, but still… it could be a deathtrap. Those Paris Hilton songs weren’t that bad, but by association a lot of people hated them.

      • Vividhunter says:

        I chose rap. There are rap/hip-hop songs with great lyrics and lots of depth to them. Have you heard anything from Spit Syndicate? They’re an Aussie hip-hop duo who are very good – great lyrics!

  2. TheSecretary says:

    It may be a horrid movie, but the song will be the lead single on the soundtrack. It would get more exposure that way than I think the other two options.

    • Drew says:

      Hmmm… you’re right. I have to take this option down a couple of notches. Maybe if it’ll have to be sung by the annoying lead actor/actress in the movie?

  3. I chose to sell it to the producer who would turn it into a dance club hit — but that’s because I like dance clubs and it would be nice to hear my ah-mazing lyrics play to the beat…it’s not that hard to do…so I may just do this one day, lol

  4. Mitzie Mee says:

    I’d also go for the rap option. Who knows, maybe one day you’d be jamming with Jay-Z. Btw..regarding rap, I think it also goes the other way around e.g. rappers doing rap-overs on pretty crappy songs. I just listened to Heartbreaker (Mariah Carey), -Jay-Z, what where you doing there??

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

