Here’s my pet peeve of the day: groups of people who insist on walking abreast.

I was walking to lunch, and I needed to cross this patch of grass. It’s been raining (and was still drizzling at the time), so the grass is muddy and soggy. Luckily, there’s a paved walkway just for this reason.

However, coming from the other direction was this group of three people who insisted on walking abreast. I did my part by moving to the side, but those jerks still almost knocked into the mud because they wouldn’t rearrange themselves.

“Get the hell out of my way, punk! I’m going to save the world!”

Why? Is the conversation so engaging that one of them can’t fall back for just a few seconds, or was there some bestial power game going on and whoever ends up walking behind the others will be considered the runt of the litter?

Anyway, I think there’s never a need to stubbornly walk abreast unless you’re walking towards a space shuttle while on a mission to save the Earth!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

8 responses »

  1. Add these people to the list of those walking on the wrong side of the sidewalk and teach them all a lesson.

  2. Alvin says:

    They alpha-dogging douche-bagging.

    Seriously, I don’t get it either – but probably because stupidity.

  3. zezil says:

    You should have just stay put, like a rock! Haha. See how they’ll react. :b Just a note though, be sure you are taller than them, or you’re an astronaut. Lol. I also hate it when that happens but I just stay put. And I watch them ‘disband’ while I walk victoriously!

  4. Blegh that’s a pet peeve of mine too. Plus people that wait for the bus on the sidewalk so that others have to walk on the road to get past. Wait in the bus shelter. That’s what it is there for.

    • Drew says:

      That’s so true! As if that extra few steps is going to prevent you from catching the bus, and even then it’s not worth placing a fellow pedestrian at risk of being hit by a car!

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

