Last Friday, I had the day off work to spend some time with wifey. We ended up going to see Taken 2, cos she thinks Liam Neeson the most bad-assed guy in the world.

During the movie, I started feeling my phone buzz to life with a whole bunch of text messages. They were from my colleague, and were basically telling me that I’ll need to start looking for a new job now because our studio is closing down.

(Side note: Even without this external influence, Taken 2 still turned out to be a weaker movie than the first one. It’s just less intense.)

“You’re going to need a new job.”

This is a bit of a first time for me. I’ve had 6 previous jobs in the last 10 years, but I left all of those on my own accord and I’ve never been retrenched before.

So for now, I’m taking this like an unexpected break-up. Well, not entirely unexpected since the relationship was a bit rocky already with delayed salaries and all… but still I didn’t expect it to happen so soon.

And what do you do with an unexpected break-up?ย Same with any other break-up – you just pick up the pieces and move on.

Right now I’m in the process of putting together a new demo reel with shots that I’ve done at work (my first reel with professional work in it!), and I’ll start applying to other studios as soon as I’m happy with it.

Between this and my military reservist next week, posts on my blog are going to be a bit on/off for a couple of weeks. You know, just in case the three of you are wondering why I’m not posting as much.

In the meantime, check out this relatively-accurate portrayal of working in a Korean animation studio!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

19 responses »

  1. mistylayne says:

    Good luck with the job hunt. Things like that suck but it sounds like you’re taking it in stride. I’m sure you’ll find something in no time!

    • Drew says:

      Thanks a bunch! Well, the industry isn’t exactly booming, but yeah let’s hope for the best!

      • mistylayne says:

        *fingers crossed* And remember, things always work out the way they’re supposed to, even if there’s some crap to wade through first. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. zezil says:

    Hey! There are four of us! (I’m kidding!)
    Well, I wish you all the best for your new adventure! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Tyson Carter says:

    The like is for the video, just to clarify Im not happy you lost your job ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. tlf says:

    Hope you find yourself back in the 9-5 saddle again real soon!

  5. letizia says:

    When one door closes another opens, as they say – hope you find something even better soon!

  6. Mitzie Mee says:

    I’m sorry to hear that (both regarding Taken 2 and your job). It really sucks to lose your job. I tried that half a year ago (also for the first time), when the airline I used to work for went bankrupt. Even though I was on leave (and didn’t plan to ever go back), it was such a crappy feeling. Though with all your skills and competences I am sure that you will find a new job very soon. You’ll be an asset for any company:)

  7. Hey Drew … sorry to hear about your predicament. I feel your pain because the exact same thing happened to me with my first job in graphic design. But I can tell you from experience that when one door closes another opens, and losing that job propelled me into bigger and better things. My advice is to stay positive and believe in yourself. You’re a really talented guy, Mr. Pan. I have a feeling you’ll do just fine! Good luck, mate!

    • Drew says:

      Thanks, Steve! It’s not ideal, but I’m honestly not as devastated as I thought I would be in this situation. Though I really do hope I can find another job soon, cos this industry ain’t handing those out.

  8. bangersland says:

    Good to see you have a positive attitude. Good luck

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

