A couple of years ago, my group in school got together and made this animated short film for our final assignment. The theme was confusion, so I had the idea to give it a horror vibe, so that we could play with lighting and sound. If you haven’t seen it, please do check it out, and don’t forget the after credits ending!

I have really mixed feelings about this project though. As the lead story guy and the group leader, I was am immensely proud of what we achieved. We kept a tight schedule, and so we were the only group to complete our film on time and as planned.

Other groups either completed their films months overtime, or had to chop their film into a trailer (yep, a 1 min trailer of a 2 min short film). All things considered, I think we did pretty well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That said, we did run into problems of our own, and creating the characters took longer than expected. As a result, the actual time spent on animation was cut down to about 2-3 weeks, so for that time I was a one-man animation team rushing all the animation… and sadly, it shows!

So the end result is a film that I think has a nice idea with some really nice visuals, but I would never put that animation on my demo-reel because it’s pretty atrocious. Compare this with my recent Tegan and Sara video, and the animation standard is miles apart!

I think someday, I might like to go back and redo all of the animation, especially since I’ve gotten much better at it. It has so much potential, doesn’t it?

But then again, I always feel like going back and redoing all my old stuff. I should probably just come up with new ideas instead, right?

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

4 responses »

  1. Vividhunter says:

    Dude, I think it’s awesome. I know you have higher standards now, but from an amateur point of view – it’s got a tight and clear story-line, with a nice twist in the ending. I think the facial expressions are really good, especially the lead. The girl at the end is the most creepy looking, but creepy kids fit with a horror theme, right 😉

    • Drew says:

      Thanks! Yeah I’m really happy with the way the story plays out, and while it may not have been the prettiest student film in our batch, it was the only one with a coherent story.

      There was a mix-up and the little girl at the end wasn’t rendered with the latest animations in place, so she’s kinda static and zombie-like. The actual animation isn’t much better or anything, but still…

  2. Mitzie Mee says:

    I agree with Vividhunter,- it’s awesome! So amazing how you trigger a whole range of emotions in such a short while. And I love how the movie ends!

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

