I originally intended to spend about a week or two on this little side project, but well, I guess it was trickier than I thought it’d be (damn that strumming animation!) so it really took me just over a month to complete.

I could still see places that I’d tweak and improve (especially in the rendering department), but I think for now I’ve come to a point where I can safely say I’m pretty happy with it.

So check it out!

And you know what else? Tegan and Sara have released a new single from their upcoming album. There’s not an official video-video yet, but here’s an official lyric video to coincide with the single’s release.

It’s a much different sounding song from Divided, but it’s pretty catchy nonetheless.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

12 responses »

  1. Alvin says:

    Looks awesome dude! Love the little accents, like the lip-licking and the sigh.

    One thing though, the blinks at 0:21 and 0:31 look a little abrupt, but it may be just me.

    • Drew says:

      Thanks!

      Oh yeah, I added some quick blinks to counter against the general slowness and swimmy-ness of the animation. Maybe they’re too quick in this case…

  2. renxkyoko says:

    Huh? Did you make that ? Wow ! !

    • Drew says:

      Well, I took an existing character and the guitar, and I made them move in a way that looks real and makes them feel human. Credit for making the character and guitar shapes goes to other people though.

  3. […] put that animation on my demo-reel because it’s pretty atrocious. Compare this with my recent Tegan and Sara video, and the animation standard is miles […]

  4. Mario Bolte says:

    Hi Drew,

    your T&S animation is awesome! It catches the spirit of the song with a funny attitude. Very nice, when tegan looks up with her eyes with the little fluttering motions of the lids.
    Contact them! Maybe you could make an official video for them – I think they are signed to Warner Bros Music. (Of course be aware of the lawyers…cause unofficial version with the music…)
    Kind regards
    mb

    • Drew says:

      Thanks for the kind comments, Mario!

      I’d love for T&S to see the video some day. I’ve tweeted them about it a few times and emailed their fan club, but with the barrage of tweets and emails they get every day, I doubt they’ve come around to seeing it.

      If you help forward the link to them via Twitter or something, I’d be most appreciative!

  5. […] also got the chance to personally hand them the animation I’d made for them on two thumb drives, so that pretty much made my day too. I myself am rather paranoid and […]

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

