Hi guys, I’ve decided to hand off my Saturday posts to my dog Sonic. So starting today, Saturdays on my blog will be “Sonic Says” Saturdays, for him to write about whatever goes through that silly furry head of his. Enjoy!


You guys might not know this, but I’m a big dog now. I’m still travel-sized and cute, but I’m a big dog now because I’m all grown up. Since I’m a big dog, Pops has been teaching me new things to make me a smart dog, and one of those new things is science.

I’m not 100% sure on what science is, but I think it’s trying to figure out what makes things what they are. That’s easy enough, but those movies he watches with the robots and space ships is supposed to be science too, but I can’t figure out why.

Anyway, the figuring out what makes things what they are part is the fun part, so I’ll concentrate on that.

The smartest humans are always the old ones, and the old ones always have very little hair. That said, I figured Bruce Willis would be a very old and very smart human. According to this wise human, “Water is wet, the sky is blue,” and you know what? It’s so very true!

Water is wet. The water that I drink (which I like) is wet, and the water that my Humans use to shower me with (which I hate) is also wet. That’s the defining feature of water. It’s wet. Whether it’s in your dish or being squirted at you when you’re trapped in the torture chamber, it’s always wet.

So when you see something and it’s wet, it’s probably water. And the sky? It’s blue! Every time I look at it, it’s blue!

Armed with that understanding of science, I then decided to figure out how to define a dog with science!

I looked at all the dogs I knew, and at first I thought it was fur. Dogs are furry. I’m furry. In fact, I’m really really furry (it’s part of the reason why I’m so cute), and so is my brother Knuckles (but he’s less cute).

But then Dennis the Vizla and Lorenza the Daschund aren’t furry at all, and they’re dogs.

Dennis and Lorenza – dogs but not furry

Then I thought maybe it’s because we have four legs! Humans have two, and dogs have four -so that’s got to be it, right?

But then I remembered that the refugee cats in our garden have four legs too, and they’re too sneaky to be dogs.

Don’t let her fool you – Socks is a very sneaky cat!

So what could it be? I thought for a long time, like about 14 minutes, and then took a nap. I woke up and thought about it for another 10 minutes, then went back to sleep.

By the time I got up next, I was really upset that I couldn’t figure it out. I didn’t want to be outsmarted by science! Hiew hiew hiew!

But then while I was licking my paws, I suddenly figured it out!

All dogs have two ears and a nose! That’s our defining feature!

Benny and Lily have two very large ears and a nose each!

Dennis and Lorenza have two ears and a nose! The two Frenchies Benny and Lily both have two very large ears and a nose! All four sibes in the Army of Four have two ears and a nose!

Even my brother Knuckles has two ears and a nose! He doesn’t have a mouth, but he’s definitely got the ears and a nose.

Knuckles has no mouth, but he still qualifies as a dog!

Woof! You can sniff my butt, science… BOL! I’m the smartest dog in the world!

And now that I understand what I am and what defines me, I can go back to sleep. I think I’ve earned my nap.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

3 responses »

  1. letizia says:

    You’re too clever Sonic! I love the idea of Sonic Saturdays!

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

