Wifey and I have one of those beds where the mattress can be lifted up with pneumatic actuators to reveal some storage space underneath. If you’re getting a new bed, look into one of these cos it’s like having a basement under our bed to keep things we don’t use anymore, like Guitar Hero controllers, my wife’s ukulele, and music CDs.

Anyway, it usually lifts up and down really easily because of the pneumatic things, so I was a bit puzzled by why my wifey had to use her whole body weight to close it one day. I didn’t think much of it at the time, but the other day I realized why.

The remains of my dream journal

This is an Inception notebook that I use as my dream journal. Guess where I normally keep it? That’s right… tucked into the mattress beside my pillow.

And now, my dreams have pretty much been crushed, so to speak. The pen that I kept with it was mangled too, but I forgot to take a photo of it before I tossed it away (in case the ink started leaking).

Do you guys keep dream journals? I find that if I don’t write down my dreams the moment I wake up, I’ll have forgotten it by the time I’m on my way to work.

Actually, I have some really awesome and random stuff in there. I think I’m going to take some of those dreams and turn them into short stories for my blog. What do you guys think? Are you interested in some of the weird random stuff that goes through my head when I’m sleeping?

Sidenote: Know what else I keep tucked in the mattress when I sleep? My phone. That’s where I keep my phone as it charges. I’m so glad it wasn’t in its resting spot when wifey decided to use brute force to tame our mattress actuators.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

20 responses »

  1. zezil says:

    Sure! Spill it here!

    Wifey is really interesting.tehehehehe. 🙂 Does she have a blog?

  2. mlleallie says:

    I just saw this band Built to Spill the other day… one of my favorite lines from their lyrics is “I wanna see movies of my dreams.” Here is a link to the video of the song, if you’re interested http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6omZ5GsuGrI 🙂 I think that is awesome, and the main reason I want to try to remember my dreams. Too bad about your journal!!

    • Drew says:

      Interesting weird stuff happens in dreams… and you never know when it might come true! With a dream journal, you can point out that you did indeed predict it!

  3. Alvin says:

    Why do you keep a dream journal? Tried to keep one some years back but first thing I wanted to do when waking up was to go back to sleep, not scribble 😛

    • Drew says:

      I have prophetic dreams. I often experience deja-vu, seeing things that I would swear I saw in a dream before. This way, I have written proof to myself that I am indeed, a prophet and a messenger from the heavens.

      Nevermind that the dreams that come true are often banal things like “sitting in a gym fiddling with a radio antennae.”

      • Alvin says:

        Yeah, everybody seems to get those. Always wondered why those foreseen moments are so useless. A winning lottery number would be much more welcome. Get on it, unconscious mind!

      • Drew says:

        Tell me about it! I had a dream in high school where I met a mermaid and she totally fell in love with me and gave me her phone number.

        Guess what? I woke up before I could read the number, and THAT dream never did come true.

  4. Tysoncarter says:

    I have a lot of dreams about losing my teeth……. apparently that means something but who knows?

  5. Vividhunter says:

    Clever title ^_^ If you’ve got anything short story worthy they sound like they’d be interesting to read. My dreams never make enough sense (at least after I wake up) to be good ideas.

    • Drew says:

      I have a few dreams that would make interesting stories if I fleshed them out a bit. You’re right though – most dreams are so cool when you’re dreaming them, but once you wake up you realize they’re just kinda weird and dull.

  6. Sure, we’d love to read about your dreams. I’d also love to have a bed like that with storage underneath. I don’t think I’d charge my phone between the matresses though … doesn’t it get hot?

    • Drew says:

      My phone doesn’t get hot while charging… well, not much. Anyway, if it’s underneath it doesn’t really heat the mattress up.

      I should probably get a sidetable to put the phone on hahaha!

  7. Rhence says:

    Hilarious title! 😀 You actually write your dream? Same with Alvin, even if I wanted to note what I had dream of, first instinct would still go back to sleep. Afraid I might lose my tardiness. haha!

    • Drew says:

      Hahaha when it’s a really cool dream, I spend about five minutes thinking about nothing except trying to recollect all the details of the dream. I’m also a light sleeper, so I generally find it difficult to go back to sleep once I’m up. Which sucks because my dog tends to whinge at me early in the morning.

  8. […] was going to put up some weird dreams from my crushed dream journal, but this one isn’t actually one of them because I had this dream after the crushed journal […]

  9. letizia says:

    Great post title! 🙂

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

