So I haven’t been writing much lately because I’ve been hard at work at this animation. Despite feeling ill today, I was psyched enough to add Sara as a secondary character because just having Tegan in the shot without Sara was a bit weird, given their band identity.

Managed to hit my personal targets of adding the camera angles and blocking the basic body movements too.

Done:

  • Added Sara, and blocked her basic body movements.
  • Added camera angles, so now I can figure out which bits to animate and which bits I can ignore.
  • Tweaked the lipsynch a little.
  • Added the tiniest of tiny advanced facial expressions.

To-do:

  • Take out Sara’s bop at x450, because it’s kinda twinning with Tegan.
  • Open Sara’s eyes somewhere between x450-x700, cos it feels like her eyes are glued shut during that extended period.
  • Add more facial expressions, especially the cute way Tegan stretches her mouth to the side on the high notes.
  • Tidy up Sara’s lines around x1000-x1100.
  • Maybe throw in a wide master shot somewhere into the mix… though that will mean I’ll need to animate their legs! (feeling lazy)
  • Put more accurate strumming and further animate the fretting fingers… but will wait for a new acoustic guitar model to replace this electric guitar before I do that.
  • Add more body movements, especially some strumming motions – but will wait until I actually have the strumming done.
About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

9 responses »

  1. letizia says:

    The camera angles really add a real life feel, very cool. (I just noticed her “chin ring”, not sure what it’s called, so funny!). Drew, I’m so amazed by your talent; as I’m so computer illiterate, I find it so cool that you can do this 🙂

    Hope you feel better soon!

    • drewpan says:

      Thanks so much!

      I’m feeling a bit better after resting through the weekend… so hopefully I can dive straight back into this and finish it through brute force efforts!

  2. Mitzie Mee says:

    *like*like*like* You made this yourself? I also like the song, where is it from?

    • drewpan says:

      Well, I animated it all myself. The character is a rig (think of it as a digital puppet) called “Eleven”, and the guitar is also made by someone else.

      I took these parts together and made them move in a way that (hopefully) simulates life.

      The song is an excellent song by a Canadian pair of twins named Tegan & Sara. The rest of the song is just as beautiful, check it out:

      • Mitzie Mee says:

        It must be so fascinating to be able to make a bunch of pixels come alive in this way. I’m deeply impressed! And I love the song, it will definitely be on my playlist this week:)

      • drewpan says:

        Thank you! I hope get good enough to work on some big movies some day!

        In the meantime, check out other Tegan and Sara songs like The Con, The Ocean, Monday Monday Monday and Back in Your Head – they’ll definitely make your playlist too!

      • Mitzie Mee says:

        I’m sure you will! I really like Tegan and Sara, thanks for “introducing” me. They are like a cooler version of Belle & Sebastian:)

  3. mlleallie says:

    This is so cool! Tegan and Sara are totally awesome, as is this animation. Nice work 🙂

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

