Most of my previous animations have some kind of violent content in one way or the other, so I’m trying something new by animating something that has no violence whatsoever.

I chose to do a character singing a song, and the song I’ve chosen is Tegan and Sara‘s Divided, off their Get Along album.

What I’ll be trying to do is to put more subtle animations in, like facial expressions, her fingers on the frets, and the lipsynching and other incidental mouth movements (so far, all I’ve got is her licking her lips just before she starts singing). I’m also trying to capture as much of Tegan’s personality as I can, by using several video references of her singing – and I also added that little piercing under her lip.

I want to at least get to the first chorus, which is about 1750 frames of animation and when you factor in all the subtle animations, I think this will be my most ambitious animation yet… more so than the Warcraft fight scene!

Anyway, here’s what I have so far:

I couldn’t really find a good video of her actually performing Divided, so I’m using this other song as the main reference for Tegan-isms.

Update: Of course, immediately after I published this post I went and looked for other video references… and lo and behold: there was a better reference video after all!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

7 responses »

  1. Geez, I love that song. Tegan and Sara are pretty popular in the Bay Area. Cool animation too, although it’s kinda strange not to see blood gushing out of his nose.

    • drewpan says:

      Hahaha HER nose! Eleven is a handy androgynous rig in that you can toggle boobs on/off – although they’re hidden under the guitar now. But trust me, the little polygon boobies are there.

  2. Ah … duly noted! What if that Eleven rig thingy worked in real life? Now THAT would interesting. Boobs would be popping up all over the place!!!

  3. Dave says:

    Haha, when I thought about something with no violence whatsoever, the first thing that came to mind was Bob Ross’s painting show. I’m sure you could find a great quote where he’s anthropomorphizing a bunch of inanimate objects, and you could animate them in a really funny way. That’d be something I’d pay to see 🙂

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

