Wicked Game is one of those songs that’s like, honestly… it’s pure sex. Chris Isaak did a terrific song, and I never get tired of listening to it.

Chris Isaac and Helena Christenssen in Wicked Game

Frolicking in the beach looks sexy, but in real life sand is scratchy and gets everywhere. EVERYWHERE!

Obviously a song this good tends to get covered, and Wicked Game is no exception. The cover I’m going to single out is HIM’s, because well, they rock.

However, it is quite a different-sounding song, with faster and heavier riffs, and far less subtlety than the original version.

Their music videos are similarly dissimilar, with the original going with a more subdued concept of Chris Isaak and Helena Christensen rolling around on the beach. She’s topless most of the time, but tight framing and editing ensures that it’s only ever suggested-nudity, with no full frontal nudity at all.

The HIM version has no such subtlety, and has lead singer Ville Valo hitting up a strip joint where a large breasted dancer is pretty much just flashing her stuff for everyone.

So which do you prefer? I’ve got both versions below.

Bonus entry: Heather Nova

Heather Nova has a nice cover too, actually. But it actually sounds pretty much like the original, except with her voice instead of Chris Isaak’s, so it’s not a good choice for a “versus” kinda post.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

6 responses »

  1. Mitzie Mee says:

    I really like the HIM cover in spite of the very much in-your-face nudity. Actually I think it’s one of the best covers I’ve heard for a long time and I usually don’t like cover versions (such as Milow’s Ayo Technology cover…worst cover ever in my opinion).

  2. topiclessbar says:

    I hold the original of this song in such high regard that I must admit, like an old fart, I hated the HIM version. Plus, the chick in the HIM video was not hot at all. The video for the original is amazing and got me hot under the collar when I was 13. Actually, that’s the second version of the video – the first was for the David Lynch movie “Wild at Heart” and is basically just the song played over clips from the movie. Brilliant decision by whoever was in charge to give the song a more deserving video.

    Lastly, this sort of reminded me of a cover I dig that goes kind of the opposite way. Some chick named Maria Mena took the Kiss song “I Was Made For Loving You” and turned it into a really cool, slow rock song, very reminiscent of the Chris Isaac Wicked Game. It’s a great cover and you should check it out!

    • drewpan says:

      Hey hey! Long time no see!

      I had a listen to that Maria Mena cover and yeah, it’s pretty sexy in this new version.

      Speaking of which, I agree that the girl in the HIM video is far far FAR from sexy. There’s something really wrong about her.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

