After going cold turkey for about 5 years, I recently got back into World of Warcraft, thanks to my friend Dave and the Scroll of Resurrection he sent me. Going back into the game has brought back quite a lot of memories, some fond (great design and stories), some not-so-fond (server down time, repetitive farming quests).

One particularly fond memory is the short film that my friends and I made, called World of Offline Gaming.

World of Offline Gaming wallpaper

Wow, I haven’t used that deadpan-entertainment.com site for a really really long time!

Basically, we took all the behavior and quirks that you see in online games, and transposed them into real-life situations. My favorite was Kill-Stealing, represented by some guy spending lots of money to get two girls drunk, only to have them whisked away by random strangers as he’s getting the last drink.

While it was meant as a joke for other Warcraft players, we noticed that a lot of non-gamers enjoyed the film too. If you’ve got six and a half minutes to spare, hopefully you’ll enjoy it too!

Random trivia:

  • We shot this film in 2006, and you can tell how dated it is by the fact that someone actually wants an old iPod.
  • Most of it was shot in a day, and we spent about $70 on it (including the beer!)
  • It got a decent amount of views on Warcraftmovies.com and YouTube, and we actually saw some random WoW players quoting lines like “Get yourself an epic car, you nub” in the game – which was a major ego-boost!
  • That alley is situated behind the bus stop near our home. Whenever my sister brings some friends over, they’d remark: “Hey this place looks familiar.”
  • Two of the voice-actors in the film were a real-life husband/wife couple, but the wife left him for some douchebag she met while playing – you guessed it – World of Warcraft.
  • I used to work at that video store at the beginning, and the bar in the Kill-Stealing scene is located right next to it.
  • A lot of people hated the cheesy laugh track, but I stand by it!
  • If you don’t get the Leeroy Jenkins reference, check this video out (warning: it’s extremely geeky – really funny too!)

Man, I used to make lots of silly short films like this. With HD cameras being so readily available these days, you’d think I’d go and make more… but you know, I didn’t.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

4 responses »

  1. chris9911 says:

    i’ve also been away for about 5years and I will admit that its always in the back of my head…maybe I’ll do diablo first!

    • drewpan says:

      Hahaha do Diablo, but honestly speaking, that game had me hooked for about a week or so, and then I’d be thinking about WoW still. It really didn’t help that it crashed my computer a few times.

      Given the short time-frame between Diablo III and my return to WoW, it might actually be a bit of a gateway drug ahahaha!

  2. Vividhunter says:

    That was great ^^ You guys should make another video for sure.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

