You guys know Gotye, right? He did this one song called Somebody I used to know.

Gotye

Weirdly enough, it is suddenly the most parodied song on YouTube or something. I mean, there’s the one with a dog and a catThe Star Wars I Used to Know, the one where everyone covers it with one guitar, and then the one parodying the one where everyone covers it on the one guitar.

Anyway, it seems the song is pretty popular… but I can’t stand it!

Every time I see Gotye, I’m not sure why but I just instantly think of John Corbett’s pretentious character in Serendipity.

Urgh!!!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

11 responses »

  1. Ugh … so agree with you about Goyte, mate! But we may not have to bothered by him for too much longer … I have a sneaking suspicion the fifteen minutes for this one-hit wonder are already up…

    • petermonaco says:

      I must say, don’t blame Gotye for how wide spread his music is. And if you listen to the rest of his CD, you’d know he isn’t a one hit wonder.

      • actually, I have. and I don’t blame him for his mass appeal. it’s just to me there’s nothing special there, nothing I haven’t already heard before. that’s why I think we’ve already heard the best he has to offer.

  2. paralaxvu says:

    Heard OF Gotye before..and no that I’ve heard Gotye, I wish I hadn’t. Gotye has to be his wayof saying he’s fake, right? He couldn’t be serious, right? Oh Lordy, yes I do wish his 15 minutes were up…and that’s 14-1/2 minutes too long!

  3. Mitzie Mee says:

    And every time I see John Corbett I think of Aidan, Carries ex in SATC:)

  4. Vividhunter says:

    Pfft, I love Goyte, and luckily haven’t heard this one to the point of overdone yet cos I’m in Japan. Learnalilgivinanlovin, Hearts a Mess – great songs. I get your point about his hair though 😛

    • drewpan says:

      Hahaha I’m sure there’s gotta be a lot of people who like him, or else he wouldn’t be as popular as he is, right? I really haven’t heard his music much other than this song though. Though I wouldn’t be surprised if they sounded like Mystic Surrender.

  5. Hmmm…I don’t like the Gotye version of the song, but I do like the covers. I LOVE the 1 guitar version. Not sure what that means. Maybe he should stick to songwriting rather than performing?

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

