I was talking to my friend while we were watching someone stammer and yammer at the front of a line of the food stall we normally go to at work. The guy just had no idea what he wanted, despite having stood in a line for 10 mins, with a long line of people still waiting behind him.

Now that is inconsiderate!

Rachael Leigh Cook can’t wait forever for you to decide on your order!

A definite pet peeve of ours is people like that. I mean, you’ve had so much time in the line already… a regular person would’ve not only decided on their order, but rehearsed the delivery in their head enough times to just let their vocal chords’ muscle memory take over.

But some people just choose not to decide, and instead they spend their entire time in the queue playing Angry Birds on their phone or gossiping with their friends.

Seriously, if you get to the front of the line and haven’t figured out what you want, you should do the courteous thing and stand aside to let the next guy order. Why hold up a long line while blabbering “Oh, I don’t know…” to yourself? What would that achieve?

The worst offenders here are those large families at fast food restaurants at McDonald’s. They’ve got all that time standing in the line, but only choose to start their family meeting about “who wants what” when they get to the front. Is it that hard to have your family discussion before?

These are times when I really appreciate people like the Soup Nazi from Seinfeld. You remember? The eccentric soup guy that throws out any customer that doesn’t keep the line moving?

Look, it’s understandable if you have questions or doubts about the menu and you’d like some clarifications before you make your order, but at least have a fair idea before you step up to the plate, you know?

Sigh… these are probably the same people that go to job interviews without having done any kind of research on the company they’re applying to.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

6 responses »

  1. D says:

    I feel the same way when I have to wait for people to write out a check at the counter or worse yet add it into their balance sheet with a long line of people behind them. Common courtesy, I dare say, is anything but common anymore.

  2. Sounds like you might have been at Starbucks! http://wp.me/p1se8R-xb

  3. In a previous life I worked as a bartender at a very busy SF bar, and it always astounded me that people who had waited in line for ten minutes would finally step up to my window and go “Hmmm … what should I drink?” Are you asking me, because I don’t give a shit, or yourself, which is something you should have done while you were waiting in line. And, of course, a line of very irritable people is building up behind him, and they’re most likely take out their impatient frustrations out on me.

    • drewpan says:

      Oh man that sucks! I guess it’s like when I get all road-ragey at cab drivers for swerving and stopping randomly… sometimes it’s really the passenger’s fault for giving the lousiest directions or just suddenly exclaiming: “TURN RIGHT HERE!!!!”

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

