About ten years ago, I was working on this Star Wars fanfilm with my friends called Jedi Slackers. It was supposed to be an anti-epic sitcom about Jedi academy drop-outs who don’t save the galaxy, or fight wars, or do anything except play videogames and wonder what they want to do with their lives. Yes, I wrote this while I was a university student.

Anyway, I came up with a few concepts for this sitcom (like saying “Force be with you” whenever someone sneezes) but my favorite was “Blilk” – basically blue and milk mixed into a word. Blilk was to be their drink of choice, and it was basically blue milk in a Corona-like bottle.

Where did I come up with something so gross-sounding, you might ask? Well, check out what Aunt Beru prepares for Luke in their farm on Tatooine.

What’s Aunt Beru making there?

That’s right… it’s blue milk!

However, we never get Jedi Slackers off the screenplay stage, so I never got around to making any… not for ten years.

Well that wait is over, because last weekend I got off my ass and made some! And it tasted like victory!

I know I look like a douche here, but Blilk is yummy!

I know what you’re thinking: Blilk is not hard to prepare, because all you need is milk, some blue food coloring, and an empty Corona bottle. Well I never got off my ass to pick up some blue food coloring. But now that wifey is heavily into baking and she’s got some of that stuff for her cupcake icing and stuff, it provided the impetus I needed to finally get it done.

Now I feel accomplished!

Want the recipe to make your own Blilk?

Ingredients:

  • Ice-cold milk
  • Blue food coloring
  • Empty glass bottle (preferably a Corona bottle)

Instructions:

  1. Peel off the labels from the glass bottle.
  2. Mix a teeny bit of food coloring with the milk until you get the desired light blue color.
  3. Pour the blue milk into the bottle.
  4. Let the Blilk sit while it condenses and little droplets appear on the surface of the bottle.
  5. Take photos and marvel at your accomplishment.
  6. Drink it all up and enjoy a taste of Star Warsiness.
About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

4 responses »

  1. awesome! i think thought that blue milky stuff Aunt Beru served looked yummy! i also always liked the cool receptacle she poured it from. i want one of those for my kitchen.

  2. Jo says:

    A Blilk recipe? Lol… To be more specific, we used “Cornflower” blue icing gel from Wilton.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

