Recently I entered an animation contest over at the 11 Second Club. Basically, they provided an audio clip (for this month it was from A League of Their Own), and you had to animate a scene to it. I wrote about this earlier, but now it’s finally done!

I admit that the cheesy blood splatter is probably a little bit on the excessively violent side, but what can I say? I have a soft spot for Mortal Kombat (which is where I borrowed the blood splatter sprites from). I did remove the blood splatter from the version that I entered into the contest though… that might break their “no excessive violence” rule.

I hope you guys get a laugh out of it. If you really enjoyed it, please feel free to to head to the 11 Second Club and vote for my entry! It doesn’t have my name on it or anything, but it’ll be the only one with a kid getting elbowed in the face.

There are plenty of other good clips there, so you’d probably want to check them out if you have some time to kill.

Update: Sadly there’s no way to jump straight to my entry (but it’s a fair system that way) so the only way is to sift through and rate various other animations. I’m checking out and rating the others right now, and it seems like I’m not the only one who did a scene with two gamers. So far, mine’s the only one where the kid got really badly knocked out though!

Hmmm… maybe I should not put up my entries ahead for discussion next time. It honestly feels as if one or two of these entries are copycat ideas. I don’t think mine is particularly original or anything, but the similarities are a bit too coincidental.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

4 responses »

  1. letizia says:

    hahaha, funny to hear a scene I know so well in a different visual – great animation! Heading over to vote now!

    • drewpan says:

      Thanks so much! Yeah… I tried my very hardest to make it as different from the original scene as possible. When I first heard the clip, I knew it was this movie even before I looked up its source. It’s that Tom Hanks laugh hahahaha!

  2. tlf says:

    I liked it regardless of the violence! Stilwell deserves it anyway.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

