I’ve been hanging out at this animation forum called the 11 Second Club for the last couple of years. It runs a monthly contest that gives you an 11 second audio clip (thus the name) and then you have to animate a scene to it.

Although I’ve been relatively active on the forums there, I’ve never tried to enter the contest before. This month, the guys at work wanna have a wager to see who at work can get a better entry in, so I guess it’s time I give it a shot!

The audio clip this month is from A League of Their Own – a movie I somewhat embarrassingly enjoy and kind of tear up when Madonna’s song comes on. In order to really break away from that image of Tom Hanks flinging a glove at a brat, I had this idea to have a guy and a trash-talking kid playing a videogame together. Tempers flare, and the guy accidentally knocks the kid out.

My brother thinks it’s a bit too brutal to depict someone elbowing a kid in the eye with so much force, but hey there’s no blood so it’s an automatic PG rating, right? Hahaha! Besides, if you’ve ever played Halo on Xbox Live and had to deal with those pesky online trash-talking brats, you know exactly how I feel!

Anyway, I’m probably about another two passes or so away from the final version (and probably a much prettier rendered version), but here’s what I’ve got at the moment.

Hopefully when it’s done, you guys can help vote for me in the competition! It sure would be nice to come in the top 10 for my first attempt!

Done: 

  • Added leg movement for the kid.
  • Added some overlapping movement for the kid.
  • Tightened up the arcs for the kid’s arm movement.
  • Added some bouncing from the impact of the kid’s hands hitting the couch.
  • Fixed his textures too.

To do:

  • Put more inbetweens into Goon’s movements, and add overlaps.
  • Fix Goon’s laugh.
  • Fix the kid’s eye movements.
  • Fine-tune their expressions.
  • Maybe extend the clip a bit to give more breathing room for Goon’s transition from glee to shock.
About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

3 responses »

  1. sarcasmjew says:

    I don’t know the first thing about animation but I found this particular one to be very funny. Can’t wait for the final product!

  2. […] month it was from A League of Their Own), and you had to animate a scene to it. I wrote about this earlier, but now it’s finally […]

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

