Do you ride the train to work every morning? I do, and one big plus is that you sometimes experience the weirdest things during your commute.

Like this morning, a packed train pulled up to the platform. I was worried about getting in, but I was relieved when about 5-7 people alighted from the train.

So imagine my surprise when 3 people then couldn’t fit in, despite the newly freed up space. I should know – I was the 3rd guy, watching from the platform as the train sped away. It’s like a reverse-version of Hermione’s beaded handbag.

I generally don’t like obnoxious office ladies on the train, cos they tend to be impatient, inconsiderate, and well, insist on a much larger buffer for their personal space than regular people. However, I did find one redeeming trait for them this morning.

If they’re alighting at the same station as you are, they’re very capable of plowing open a path for you, like the ambulance in Die Hard with a Vengeance. I just followed closely behind her and had no trouble getting out of the crowded train.

It was a short train ride, so I don’t really have any other tidbits from the commute. I guess I’m just not as psyched about trains as this guy interviewed on the local news when the new train line opened:

Can’t fault his enthusiasm!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

11 responses »

  1. zezil says:

    Here, riding the train is a nightmare! But then, women have a, erm, special coach. But still, this does not guarantee anything except being the first ones to use the turnstiles.=)

    • drewpan says:

      Special coach? Is it like a Japanese thing because there are too many cases of molestation?

      • zezil says:

        I am not sure but it has been like that since time immemorial. The first coach is for the disabled, pregnant and elderly, the next three, for women, and the tail end is for men. Those who come in late (women) sometimes end up in the men’s but the opposite is not allowed (men not allowed in women’s coach).

        I did not know about that news bit on Japan train. All I know is that they have people-pushers…

  2. When we were in Japan and visited Tokyo, the trains were insane!!! There is no such thing as personal space. They literally have metro employees that stand on the platform and push people in the trains to pack them as tight as possible. Never ride the train during the 3 hours surronding rush hour….I still have nightmares of the lady that was pushed to the ground and somehow crawled between passenger legs to not get trampled. The whole time I was pinned against the side of the train watching everyone get shoved in. It was funny but scary weird at the same time.

    • drewpan says:

      What I do like about Tokyo is that somehow, as packed as it is, people are rather orderly. It’s the same in Hong Kong… people there will line up and be really considerate about doing everything in an orderly manner. I think these people will survive a zombie apocalypse.

  3. paralaxvu says:

    My memories of train rides are from the 50s when trains in the US were big and beautiful and always on time. The seat backs could be turned so four people could face each other, and the dining car had real sterling silverware. I used to love watching the backyards of small towns roll past the window. Oh, for the good old days…

    • drewpan says:

      Hahahah are you talking about a train or a floating castle? Your description sounds so completely different from the trains we have in Singapore… not just a variation or slightly different, but completely different!

      • paralaxvu says:

        Yeah, that’s why they no longer exist. That was back when travel was an experience (a GOOD experience!) in itself, not just the fastest way to get from point A to point B.

      • drewpan says:

        As I recall (as in I’ve seen it in movies like Catch Me If You Can), people used to really dress up for plane trips too. Wonder what happened there?

      • paralaxvu says:

        I used to, too, until I realized, after hearing about one too many plane crashes, that if I were to have any chance at escaping it’d be if I were dressed in jeans and tennies;-)

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

