It feels like an eternity ago now, but just a couple of weeks ago wifey and I were in Australia celebrating a friend’s wedding (yes, we miss Australia already). At said wedding, a good buddy of mine was talking to this pretty lady, and they spent a bit of time at the piano, where her fingers were dancing all over the keys.

Needless to say, that whole scene was pretty memorable for him, and I do hope that something comes out of that eventually.

When I think of Rachael Yamagata, I think of tears and pianos.

Anyway, I’ve got a soft spot for music that consists of girls singing and playing the piano, though I generally do prefer the more somber stuff rather than a rendition of Thomas the Tank Engine. Actually, I once made a mix CD entitled “Morose Girls with Pianos”. Here’s a sample of some of the songs I had on that CD.

Rachael Yamagata – The Reason Why

Wifey and I saw Rachael Yamagata live a few years ago, and it was like a continual wave of sadness thundering out from her piano. Awesome stuff! She just released a new album or something, so I’ve got to go check that out soon.

Alicia Keys – Fallin’

I’m pretty sure wifey and I saw Alicia Keys live too… however I don’t really have any solid recollection of it, except that the seats were wonky and it felt really uncomfortable the whole time. That said, Alicia Keys is ridiculously hot!

Marie Digby – Miss Invisible

I had the pleasure of meeting and interviewing YouTube sensation Marie Digby a few years back, and she’s exactly like her songs, really shy and awkward. This particular song of hers really smacked me hard in the emotional gut though, and it remains my favorite in her debut album.

Amy Lee – My Immortal

Damnit I looked all over for a version of this that doesn’t have the band joining in towards the end of the song, but I was unable to do so. I have one of the early presses of the debut album, where the only version of My Immortal available was the piano-only one.

It’s so sad, made sadder because this is the song that’s played when Ben Affleck was all torn up internally because Colin Farrell framed him for the murder of Jennifer Garner’s dad. I think he might have had some additional baggage from the whole J’Lo breakup too, but he held steady like the awesome guy he is.

Tori Amos – Silent all these years

You can’t have a playlist of girls with pianos without including Tori Amos, right? However, looking her up on YouTube made me realize that I would never let wifey go near a plastic surgeon. It’s scary because it was so unnecessary. Her music is still great though!

Fiona Apple – Never is a Promise

I tried to find a Fiona Apple song, but with my limited knowledge of her repertoire, I originally couldn’t find one with her and a piano without some percussion in the background. But now I have, and here she is!

I thought of putting in Vanessa Carlton too, but with that voice of hers, even sad songs sound sweet and overly sugary.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

12 responses »

  1. Alvin says:

    You got to meet Marie Digby? Lucky you! And that song – whoever made her feel invisible must have been blind, she’s so darn cute!

    Let me add one non-morose girl with piano, our own Corrinne May: http://youtu.be/ihKvjo-w9Us

    • drewpan says:

      Yeah totally! Actually to be honest, what’s with Alicia Keys too? Who the hell wouldn’t call her back?

      I think I wrote an article about this before, like, singers who sing songs about loneliness when quite frankly, they’d be beating off suitors with a stick.

      Also, nice song by Corrinne May!

  2. letizia says:

    I wasn’t familiar with Marie Digby and just LOVE her song! Thanks for introducing her to me!!!

  3. Emma Robson says:

    Cannot *believe* Fiona Apple didn’t feature in this list. Are you a Fiona hater? She has a few..

    • drewpan says:

      I did actually try to find a Fiona Apple song, but I couldn’t find one where it’s just her and a piano without some percussion. But wait, I just found one! I’ll put it in.

  4. paralaxvu says:

    So I now and like Alicia Keys, have heard of but not heard Tori Amos, and the others are new to me. Thanks for keeping an old gal up-to-date!

  5. paralaxvu says:

    Reblogged this on paralaxvu and commented:
    I don’t know most of these girls, but I’ve always loved sad piano songs–even when not in a bar…

  6. drewpan says:

    I don’t like a lot of her stuff too, but some songs really are catchy and good. But too much production in this song? It’s an acoustic version… it’s just her and the piano, without any electronic beats or anything.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

