For some reason, I really like music videos that make clever use of the split-screen effect. Maybe it’s because it seems so difficult to coordinate all that action and keep your cameramen from knocking into each other or getting each other in shot, or maybe it’s just because I’ve never had the luxury of shooting with more than one camera at a time.

Here are two of my favorite split-screen videos… and further emphasizing the whole duality theme is the fact that they both feature singer-songwriter duos.

Cibo Matto

Yuka Honda and Miho Hatori from Cibo Matto

First up is Cibo Matto’s Sugar Water, followed by Tegan and Sara’s I Hear Noises.

PS Sugar Water was directed by Michel Gondry, who is a genius with a camera. Here’s the guy who’s done amazing things like the Foo Fighter’s Everlong video and Kylie Minogue’s Come Into My World, and how about that amazing synchronized reverse/forward action in Sugar Water? How does he come up with this stuff?

Tegan Quin and Sara Quin, from well… Tegan and Sara

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

