My wifey loves the Foo Fighters. LOVES them. She thinks Dave Grohl is a genius.

But when she overhears me listening to some metal bands, she will instinctively make fun of me and say that it’s just noise.

And that’s what I don’t get… Dave Grohl screams just as much as the singers in the metal bands I listen to. Look at every picture of Dave Grohl singing… he’s got those neck veins popping and he looks like he’s either going to pop an aneurysm in his brain.

The many faces of Dave Grohl

So how is Dave Grohl’s singing, like in this concert shot in Sydney:

Any different from say, Dani Filth’s singing?

Don’t get me wrong, I do like quite a few songs from the Foo Fighters. But I’m just wondering why the wifey likes one but hates the other? Cos it couldn’t possibly be that she’s got double-standards, right?

The thing is, Dave Grohl sounds just fine when he’s not trying to make his carotid artery explode. Check out this video, also shot in Sydney… and not too far away from my high school, no less!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

9 responses »

    • drewpan says:

      That was a good post about positive reinforcement for training animals! It might not get results faster, but I sleep better knowing that my dog comes to me because he loves me, and not because he fears the consequences otherwise.

  1. even the stance is the same … legs spread wide apart, feet planted in like he’s facing hurricane-force gales, bent slightly at the waist, face shoved into the microphone and, as you say, bulging neck muscles and veins, and mouth open wide enough to accept a medium-sized pumpkin — why, he looks like James Hetfield of Metallica!!!

    • also, i dig ‘big me’ both the song and video (although grohl looks ridiculous in his pippy longstocking pigtails). didn’t know they shot that in Sydney. Is that oxford st. they’re running down?

      • drewpan says:

        I can’t verify this, but the cafe scene was apparently shot around Crows Nest cos apparently some of the guys from school said they saw it and all. It could be Oxford St though – those streets kinda look alike hahahaha!

        Legend has it that they were touring Sydney, saw the silly Mentos ads on TV, and decided to shoot this music video impromptu.

  2. Addie says:

    After a long bad day today, you have no idea how much I needed the laugh I got out of this. I like that you and your wife, though not so much alike in music preferences, both have excellent taste in music.

    And again, the pics were indeed hilarious. Did you watch American Idol finale? Not a fan but I see many pictures of Jennifer Holiday singing with Jessica Sanchez and their crazy facial expressions.

    • drewpan says:

      Hahahaha I take it you’re a Cradle of Filth fan then?

      I don’t really follow American Idol at all, but I did a quick Google and omigod she was totally contorting her face like Jim Carrey!

  3. Vividhunter says:

    DG eating a magnum – nice ^_^. I think the Foo Fighters style is similar to a lot of melodic metal bands, which CoF might be part of (it’s been a while since I listened to them), as well as A Perfect Circle/Tool, Disturbed… I’ve always thought of Death Metal as being more grunty/incomprehensible though?

    • drewpan says:

      CoF is frequently incomprehensible, UNLESS you have a copy of the lyrics with you. Then it becomes scary when you realize that all that incomprehensible screeching actually makes sense when you know what Dani Filth is singing.

      It’s just… would it hurt for Dave Grohl not to scream so much? His singing is just fine without it and the FF sound doesn’t really require it, IMO.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

