I like musical playlists that kinda have some strange connection. One of my favorite mix CDs in the car is this one I made full of songs that have “la la la” somewhere in their lyrics.

Anyway, in case you were wondering, here are my top 5 favorite such songs in that CD:

#5: Nick Cave & PJ Harvey – Henry Lee

As my brother would put it, this song is “pure sex”. It’s also incredibly morbid… and has a completely different vibe from the other songs in this list.

#4: that dog. – Retreat from the Sun

that dog. (yeah, with the really weird punctuation) aren’t exactly the greatest band in the world or anything, but back in the late 90’s I really loved the shit out of their 3rd studio album. There are a couple of songs on it that fit the “la la la” theme, but I picked this one cos it’s one of my favorites.

#3: Weston – La La Love You (cover of a Pixies song)

It’s not that Weston’s cover of this song (which came on the Pixies tribute album Where Is My Mind) is any better than the original or anything, but I picked it over the original version cos they put a lot more “la la la” singing in it. And that to be suits the theme a bit more.

So yeah, la la la la la! All I’m saying, pretty baby… la la love you, don’t say maybe.

Here’s a video, cut to some old TV show that I can’t recognize.

#2: Redd Kross – Yesterday Once More (cover of a Carpenters song)

Wow it’s another cover! And the reason I picked the cover over the original this time is because well, it’s a cool cover. And it’s from that If I were a Carpenter tribute album, and all the cool kids have that album so I need to name-drop it too.

#1: Liz Phair and Material Issue – The Tra La La Song

There were a ton of gems on the Saturday Morning Cartoons tribute album, but my favorite has always been the opening track. It’s just way too upbeat and way too happy for me not to include it in this list. This is the first time I’m seeing this music video, and it’s so colorful that it’ll cheer you up even on a dreary Monday.

There are plenty of other songs that have “La la la” in the lyrics, so I’ve put a bunch of them down here. Let me know if you’ve got any “la la la” favorites that didn’t appear in this list.

  1. Petra Haden – Bach Prelude No. 2 in C minor (for well tempered voice)
  2. Sugarflies – Telegenicbabe
  3. that dog. – Long Island
  4. Weezer – You gave your love to me softly
  5. Deadstar – Here You Come
  6. Shonen Knife – All I Want for Christmas
  7. The Pixies – La La Love You
  8. Tanya Chua – My Color TV Set
  9. Clem Snide – Moment in the Sun
  10. The Carpenters – Yesterday Once More
  11. Cibo Matto – Sugar Water
  12. Michael Buble – Everything
  13. Jason Mraz – Life is Wonderful
  14. Portishead – Requiem for Anna
  15. Josie & the Pussycats – Spin Around
  16. Inner Circle – Sweat
  17. The Powerpuff Girls – Love Makes the World Go Round
  18. Barenaked Ladies – La La La La Lemon
  19. Social Distortion – Story of My Life
  20. Cypress Hill – Hand on the Glock
  21. Eminem – Without Me
  22. Avril Lavigne – Mobile
  23. Avril Lavigne – Nobody’s Fool
  24. Avril Lavigne – What the Hell
  25. Avril Lavigne – I Love You
  26. Avril Lavigne – Everybody Hurts
  27. Avril Lavigne – Daydream

Wow, Avril Lavigne certainly likes singing “la la la!”

Avril Lavigne, the ambassador of “la la la”

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

2 responses »

  1. Jonathan says:

    I created a playlist on spotify, with around 50 songs so far. You helped me find more!

    Here’s a few that you didn’t include:
    Bob Dylan – The Man in Me
    Blur – Charmless Man
    Goldfrapp – Ooh La La

    • Drew says:

      Haha thanks! I’ve actually found a few more since too. Although I can’t think of any right now because my memory is terrible like that! Yikes!

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

