As a game reviewer, I get sent pretty much most of the latest games to try out. But the other day when I had a day off, do you know what I was playing?

Sid Meier’s Colonization – a game that originally came out in 1994. There was a remake a few years ago, complete with updated graphics and everything, but I was playing the old one. The one that looks like this:

Sid Meier’s Colonization – and it’s terribly dated graphics

It’s not much to look at, is it? Hell, it didn’t even look good for it’s time. Compared to the games of today with their fancy HD graphics, bump-mapping and physics engines, this game looks absolutely archaic. iPhone games look better than this!

But you know what? It doesn’t matter. Colonization is tons of fun, and the simple graphics just means you can concentrate on the game without being distracted by any fancy particle effects.

I tend to regress to old games like this. I mean, I was playing Prototype 2, a new game that allows you to run and leap through New York City with monstrous powers that allow you to destroy tanks with massive tentacles etc… and I just get bored of it after a while. The flashiness of the graphics and the whole “open-world” gameplay (dreaded buzz-words plaguing today’s games) fades after a few sessions, and I didn’t feel compelled to keep going.

Compare this with older games like SimCity 4, Star Control II and Shadow Dancer, that I can easily go back to again and again. They didn’t depend on flashy graphics or gimmick dujour gameplay… they were just solid pieces of entertainment. And solid, fun gameplay is timeless.

Even without fancy 3D graphics, Star Control 2 is one of the greatest games of all time!

I wish I could somehow take my love for classic videogames and express it to my wifey in a way that would make sense to her. So maybe then she’ll finally understand why I’m so in love with her and believe me when I tell her that I think she’s beautiful and will always think she’s beautiful – even among younger girls, supermodels, and the like.

Of course, being the cynic she is, she’ll probably point out that in my videogame metaphor, I still dabble with new videogames, even if they’re just short-term flings. Or point out that I’m inadvertently saying that she’s less physically attractive than younger girls.

I guess I’ll just have to come up with another metaphor then…

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

