A couple of weeks back, I wrote a post about my annoyance with people who use the term “bro” without actually being close to someone.

It wasn’t a great story or anything, but I love repeating it because that means I get another chance to say “I’m not your bro, bro!”

Well, now I’ve found out that someone’s got a much better story than mine!

Dlisted posted a story about Rufus Wainright meeting Bea Arthur from The Golden Girls – apparently an idol of his.

Check out how it went:

Rufus: “I’m sorry to bother you, and I’m sure you hear this all the time, but I was going through a rough patch and Golden Girls brought me so much entertainment and comfort. It really helped me get through the bad spell.You’re so wonderful. You made me feel like you’re my grandmother.”

Bea: *gently leans into his ear* “I’m not your fucking grandmother.” *throws scarf over shoulder, arches back and exits stage left*

That is so fucking hardcore hahahah!

I have to admit, I did watch my fair share of The Golden Girls when I was a kid. It was good stuff!

Bea Arthur from the Golden Girls

The “Bea” in Bea Arthur stands for super-bitch!

I wonder how Betty White would’ve responded if Rufus Wainright approached her instead.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

2 responses »

  1. meladjusted says:

    Oh, I love Bea Arthur – so good to know that she was just as tough in ‘real life’. Golden Girls hold some of the fondest memories for me too – it was a great time to be a kid!

    • drewpan says:

      Hahaha it’s reminiscent of a story I heard about Frank Sinatra. It was his birthday, and a whole bunch of music folks were there to celebrate. Kenny G goes up to Sinatra and expresses his respect for Ol’ Blue Eyes, and then Sinatra exclaims “Who the hell are you?” and then walks away.

      Actually, in the way I heard it, Sinatra used a homophobic slur, but I don’t feel comfortable repeating that.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

