People usually have two basic groups of friends these days: real-life friends, and then online friends.

Real life friends are the ones you meet up with for coffee, movies… basically face-to-face stuff. It doesn’t matter if it’s once a week or once a year, they’re still real life friends.

Online friends are the ones you interact with only the Internet. Blogs, Facebook, Twitter, whatever. Maybe you’ve met them at a party before, maybe you haven’t. But the majority of your interactions would take place in cyberspace.

A subset of your online friends would be those Facebook friends. There are several types of Facebook friends too, ranging from the serial-liker to the guy that checks-in everywhere.

And then there’s the Facebook troll. Now, some Facebook friends are pretty much non-existent. They’re there on your list, but they never really interact with you. If you hear from them, chances are it’s because they want you to vote for them in some contest.

Damn trolls...

The Facebook troll is something like that, but worse. The Facebook troll will make appearances every now and then, and make snarky bitchy comments on your posts.

Now really, what’s that all about, right? No “Likes” when you put up a photo of your dog or anything… just purely negative comments. Whether it’s said in jest or not, it’s just pretty irritating when it’s all you get from this person.

I’m not so ultra-sensitive that I can’t take criticism or anything, and I frequently do get a lot of crap from many of my friends. But those friends will do more than just give me shit, and that makes all the difference.

If this person was purely a Facebook friend, I guess the easy way out would be to just block or delete that person. But you know what? I do know this person in real life, and we might bump into each other some day. So wouldn’t that be awkward?

When it all boils down to it, it’s not a huge deal. I’m not going to let this person ruin my evening with a couple of dumb comments. I’m going to finish this post, go hug my dog and finish watching Grosse Pointe Blank.

My life is great, and while your dumb comments might make me cringe and bite my lip for a moment, they’re not going to affect me enough to ruin my evening.

PS My recent Fart post got a crap-ton of views recently (for my meager standards anyway)! Thanks, guys! Who would’ve thought that a Fart-post would do so well?

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

5 responses »

  1. Alvin says:

    Try running a tech Facebook page and watch the Apple/Android fan-trolls emerge from the depths. It gets ugly.

  2. patpatkay says:

    ” If you hear from them, chances are it’s because they want you to vote for them in some contest.” I can’t tell you how true that is for me. People I’ve never talked to in my life that I know in person constantly bother me with their stupid contest things. As for those trolls, they really don’t have much of a life 😀 Just saying 😉

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

