A while ago, before I figured out how to plug my iPhone into my car, we had to rely on burning CDs (because I really didn’t like to be stuck with just one band’s music for the entire drive). It was then that I discovered the joys of putting together a playlist, with obscure themes.

Right now, I’ve got a CD with TV show theme songs, another one with songs that have “la la la” in the lyrics, one filled with acoustic guitar songs (wifey loves those), and my favorite one was entitled “Morose girls with pianos”.

Anyway, I thought I’d just make a mini one now, for days of the week. Chip in if you have a favorite to recommend!

Monday: I don’t like Mondays – Tori Amos

Nobody likes Mondays, but did anyone go on and write a song about it? Well, a few people probably did… but the one I know is Tori Amos’ effort.

Tuesday: Tuesday Morning – Michelle Branch

I actually didn’t know any Tuesday songs off the top of my head, so I did a quick Google search and came across this one. I’m not a huge Michelle Branch fan or anything, but her songs do remind me of a time when my age didn’t begin with a 3, so that’s always a plus.

Wednesday: Wednesday Morning 3am – Simon & Garfunkel

This was a toss-up between this and another Tori Amos song (simply entitled “Wednesday”). Tori had an entry already, so here’s Simon & Garfunkel.

Thursday: Thursday – Morphine

I first came across Morphine when a friend sent me a song called “French Fries and Pepper”. What an amazing title for a song! French fries are awesome! Anyway, that was a meaningless statement, so let’s just check out the song.

Friday: Friday, I’m in Love – Dean & Britta (covering The Cure)

I’m sure this entry shocks you for two reasons: I didn’t use the Rebecca Black song (which I don’t actually dislike), and I didn’t use the original Cure version. Well, this song is the definitive “days of the week” song (and the primary reason I wrote this post), so I definitely have to use this song. However, I’ve put up a ton of The Cure videos in this blog before, so I thought this would be a good chance to put up this charming cover that I heard from a Cure tribute album.

I've been trying to buy this t-shirt for my sister for the longest time, but it's out of print!

Saturday: Saturday Night at the Movies – The Drifters

Oh man, this song reminds me of my childhood too. NOT because I was born in the 60s, mind you! But my dad used to blast these oldies in the car when we’re going to visit my grandparents and stuff, so I remember a crapload of these songs.

Special mention goes to Saturday Afternoon Plans by I am Robot and Proud, but I’m sure I’ve put that song up here before.

Sunday: Gloomy Sunday – Heather Nova (cover of an old Hungarian song) + Sunday Afternoon – Rachael Yamagata

Wow, what a way to end/start the week. There are two songs in my music collection that are about Sunday, and both are incredibly depressing. Gloomy Sunday was composed in 1933, and recorded in English by Billie Holiday in 1941. It was actually banned by the BBC for being too depressing. There’s also an urban legend that listening to this song will cause you to commit suicide (similar to my theory about The Cure’s Pictures of You), but well, at least it’s just suicide and not a creepy girl crawling out of your TV to kill you.

In any case, I’ll put up the Heather Nova version as she’s hot.

And if you don’t want to risk the curse of Gloomy Sunday, here’s an equally depressing (but less infamous) Sunday song by Rachael Yamagata.

Okay, so I don’t end on such a down note, here’s The Cure’s version of Friday I’m in Love.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

6 responses »

  1. Cara Olsen says:

    Do these help you keep track of what day it is? 🙂

    Love your Tuesday selection; Michelle Branch kicks butt.

    • drewpan says:

      Hahahah I didn’t like Michelle Branch that much when she first hit the airwaves, but in hindsight those songs remind me of those days when I wasn’t old, and that’s always a good thing!

  2. LOVE this one, Drew. I’m all about my playlists: themes for all occasions! I like to think that I could plug in at any party and deliver the musical goods. My currents include “Chicks Rock (Vol. 2), “90’s-palooza,” “It Don’t Mean A Thang If It Ain’t Got That Twang,” and “Moods For Moderns.”

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

