Apologies for the really silly headline, but I just wanted to drop a quick post about The Lion King.

I was playing Draw Something with the wifey (a pretty good game on the iPhone if you haven’t tried it, and well worth the $180m Zynga spent buying it out), and I had to draw “Lion King” for her.

The logo for the musical

Now The Lion King is one of my wife’s favorite movies of all time (she named her first dog Simba), so really all it would take is for me to doodle a lion with a crown on it, or even the rough Simba doodle that is used for the musical’s logo. No matter how badly drawn it could be, she’d recognize it in a second.

But it’s my wife’s favorite movie, so I couldn’t possibly just give her a simple doodle. It’s only right to put in that little bit of extra effort to put a smile on her face.

So I went and image-Googled a reference image to draw from. I mean, I could do it off memory, but I wanted it to be nice-nice, you know?

And while drawing off an image in front of you might be considered somewhat cheating in this game, I’m confident that since she would’ve guessed it from the simplest drawing anyway, it’s okay to get a bit of help to put more effort into the lay-up (or gimme, if you prefer golf terms).

Besides… real cheating in this game is when people don’t even bother to draw, and write words instead. Is it worth playing a drawing game if you want me to guess “Amazon” by writing “Amazon” in block letters?

So I found a picture from this blog post, and used it as my reference. And here’s the result.

The reference picture I used.

My crappy rendition of the picture above.

So there you have it! It’s not exactly a color photocopy, but you know… it’s cos I’m drawing on my iPhone with my stubby fingertip, and I haven’t unlocked enough colors. Yes, that’s right. I’ll just blame the lack of colors and my stubby fingers, and completely overlook any lack of talent.

Also something I wanted to add: that post I mentioned at the Academy of Art Animation blog? You should totally check it out. It’s got examples of the hand-drawn sketch animations for characters like Scar.

As someone who is trained only in 3D computer animation, I am simply amazed at what these guys can do with pencils and paper. It just looks amazingly fluid, and I don’t think half the people I work with right now (myself included) can replicate that with the most advanced software.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

3 responses »

  1. Nathan says:

    Dude, that’s an awesome drawing!!

    • drewpan says:

      Hahaha thanks! Jo wanted me to buy one of those iPhone pen things, but I don’t think they’ll be any more accurate on a teeny weeny iPhone screen.

      Now if I had an iPad…

  2. We are a gaggle of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your website offered us with valuable info to paintings on. You have done a formidable task and our whole neighborhood will likely be grateful to you.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

