Been really busy with work lately, so I haven’t been able to blog as much.

However, I did wanna just drop a quick post about That Dog, or as they like to write it: “that dog.” (period included). I discovered this band way back in high school because they were all friendly with Weezer (my favorite band back then), but it seems that hardly one has ever heard of them. Actually, it was by chance that I happened to find their Retreat from the Sun album while holidaying with my family in Queensland.

You see, that was before the Internet, before mp3s, and the only way to find even somewhat-obscure music was to track down CDs in second-hand music stores. You guys do remember a time like that, right? Don’t go making me feel ancient now! I did manage to track down all three albums in reverse-chronological order, and found that I really preferred the newer stuff (their debut album is a bit weird and difficult to get into).

Anyway, for a band that never really quite made it anywhere near the A-list, they certainly had some pretty good tunes. It was all really nice catchy stuff about crushes and relationships – really different from the heavy metal phase that I was coming out from and wholly appropriate for a time when I was really starting to get into girls and stuff. If I had gotten myself a girlfriend at that time, I would’ve made that dog. the soundtrack to my relationship.

In fact, one of the first things I’d ever given a girl that I was going out with was a pendant that I had customized to look like the broken heart pendant on the back of the Totally Crushed Out album. I don’t think she ever saw the significance and symbolism of the gift though, and probably thought it was the stupidest gift ever.

The "broken heart" pendant - still a pretty cool design, I think.

A few years later, when I was in my first long-term relationship with another girl, I was still basing my relationship ideals on that dog. lyrics. I distinctly remembered a line from the song “I’m Gonna See You” which goes like this:

“We’ll have wedding dreams, and baby seats, and family gatherings eternally… you and me.”

So to me, it was a big deal to ask her to come along to some dinner with my folks and some relatives, and we kinda got into a fight when she declined. Yep… I was petty, silly, and immature enough to base my ideals on the songs of a 90’s rock band.

But anyway, this pseudo biographical post is starting to get pretty boring for anyone that’s not me, so let’s just listen to some music.

And check it out, someone posted up a (not-quite-perfect) recording of their reunion show last year! I can’t believe people in LA get awesome gigs like this all the time…

If you’re interested in the band and are too lazy to google them yourself, here’s their Wikipedia page.

If you’re too lazy to read that, then here are some quick facts:

  • Anna and Tony (lead singer/writer and drummer) appeared in Weezer‘s Buddy Holly video. That’s them dancing in the 1:37 mark.
  • Rachel and Petra (bass and violin, respectively) have a third sister named Tanya (who sometimes plays cello for them and is currently married to Jack Black). They’re triplets, and their dad is a famous jazz musician named Charlie Haden.
  • Petra has also been involved with The Decemberists, and a wacky all-woman a cappella group that covers songs by The Who. She also played the violin in a Tegan and Sara song (Sentimental Tune).
  • Rachel is an on-off member of The Rentals, formed by former Weezer bass-player Matt Sharp.
  • Anna wrote a whole bunch of songs for the Josie and the Pussycats soundtrack.
  • Tony is the only guy in the otherwise all-girl group.

I’ll just end this post with one of my favorite lyrics from their songs (Long Island):

By definition a crush must hurt, and they do… just like the one I have on you!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

2 responses »

  1. Addie says:

    It sucks that YouTube here in *whispers* the office is blocked. Har! But Weezer, The Decemberists, Tegan and Sara, Josie and the Pussycats…these names are music to my ears. Will check the songs out first thing after I get home!

    • drewpan says:

      Hahahah glad to help introduce That Dog to somebody, especially somebody who also likes Tegan and Sara, Weezer, and one of my absolute favorites Josie and the Pussycats hahaha! I gotta write a post about that underrated movie someday.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

