Just a quick post today: Lately, there’s been a rash of games that are so-called reboots of beloved games, yet play nothing like the originals.

I’m talking about Syndicate, XCOM, and I’ve even heard something about a Star Control reboot that’s a space sim. I don’t understand why… I just don’t. I know that first-person shooters are pretty much the only games that sell these days, but why not just come up with a new IP instead?

That said, I have yet to play the new Syndicate and XCOM isn’t out yet, but I don’t have high hopes. I loved those games back in the 90s, and I loved their original strategic gameplay!

Anyway, I went to play with a Meme Generator and came up with this:

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

5 responses »

  1. I’m still waiting for a new Space Invaders. 😉

    • drewpan says:

      A FPS Space Invaders would be just about right! Those aliens would have landed on Earth, and you have to defeat them with guns. There will also be space-flight mini-game levels as a “homage” to the original game.

  2. NewsmanDrej says:

    The Syndicate reboot is actually pretty good, but I definitely don’t see why it has to be a remake. Just make it a spinoff or something people. That way you won’t take away the hope that a classic game might get a proper sequel at some point in the future.

    • drewpan says:

      I was really contemplating getting it, but the thing that’s holding me back isn’t the whole FPS thing but the fact that none of my friends got it. I wish they’d implemented split screen play so I could play with the wifey.

  3. […] include LGBT content in their games. I might disagree with many of EA’s business decisions (like rebooting a beloved strategy franchise as a first-person shooter), but I can totally throw my support into this one. Diana Aller (modeled on IGN's Jessica Chobot) […]

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

