I was in a Marilyn Manson mood yesterday, and amid all the songs about the evils of society was their cover of Tainted Love. Now here’s a song that gets covered all the time. My dad will insist that Stardust is the most covered song ever, but I believe the title belongs to Tainted Love. I don’t have any concrete proof, but it’s one of those songs that you keep hearing on the radio, and I can understand why. The lyrics about a bad romance is just something that everyone can relate to, and really who can resist bopping along to that “dum dum!” part of the song?

Anyway, I got curious about just how covered this song is, so I Wiki-ed it and found out that it was originally recorded in 1965. That means it’s a whopping 46 years old, and in that time it’s been covered at least 30 times. So here is a quick selected list of Tainted Love covers, for your listening pleasure.

First off, we’ve got the original Gloria Jones version, recorded waaaay back in 1965. I first heard this version about 5 mins ago when I was researching for this post, and honestly speaking I could not have imagined the song to sound like this at all.

The version most of us would be familiar with is the 1981 Soft Cell cover, which is now an iconic 80s song. And wow, this is a really, really WEIRD music video!

I love the Marilyn Manson version and all, but I’d have to say that my favorite cover of Tainted Love belongs to My Ruin, released in 1999. It’s very similar to the Marilyn Manson version with its heavy metal sound, but Tairrie B just sings with so much raw emotion and anger that you could really believe that she was watching her boyfriend fucking her best friend as she was singing this song.

And of course, here’s the 2001 Marilyn Manson cover. I am enamored with this video, because 1) it’s one of my favorite songs, 2) it’s one of my favorite musicians, 3) it’s part of the soundtrack to one of my favorite movies, and lastly 4) it’s got Chyler Leigh transforming from a geeky art girl to a goth in a leather outfit. Honestly speaking, what more could you want from a music video? Bikini-clad pink bunnies? Well, it’s got those too!

I can’t say I like this 2005 version all that much, but the Pussycat Dolls’ cover does sound quite different from the Marilyn Manson and My Ruin versions. But then again, you could also say that Bruno Mars sounds a lot different from Marilyn Manson, and that’s not necessarily a good thing. Since it adds variety, I thought I’d toss it in here.

The latest cover would be from the Scorpions, which was included in their 2011 comeback album Comeblack. That’s a tacky, tacky name for an album by the way! All in all, I’d rather them rerecord Rock you like a Hurricane instead of this, because it just sounds like a weaker version of the My Ruin or Marilyn Manson covers.

Don't touch me with your Tainted Love!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

2 responses »

  1. Sheena says:

    Digging the Ruin version, I am in love with the Marilyn Manson version, always have been since it came out. He remade “I Put a Spell on You”…fuck the world. I had no idea this was not a Soft Cell original…wow.

    • drewpan says:

      Tell me about it. The moment I found out that Tainted Love wasn’t a Soft Cell original, it was like everything I was brought up to believe was all made up of bullshit. And that Gloria Jones original version just sounds… so… so… normal. Hahahah! I think it’s amazing how Soft Cell took it and really made it their own, with those synths doing the “dum dum” (with perfectly synchronized tantrum-throwing arms in the music video).

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

