I had a discussion with a friend lately that kinda angered me. We were talking about his blog, and I was pointing out that some of his posts need a bit of work because they’re too unpolished and loose, especially since he’s trying to make money from it. This guy basically shoots me down and then said something along the lines of “I don’t need to improve my posts. I have an Internet Marketing mentor to teach me about affiliate marketing and that’s what is going to bring me the money.”

Is this really what the new generation thinks blogging is about? Generating traffic through by exploiting search engines? Throwing in a bunch of keywords to snag an unsuspecting visitor? I mean, whatever happened to having an interesting thought and wanting to share your views with the online community? Whatever happened to the desire to improve your writing and expressiveness?

But that’s okay, really. If a blog is purely for profit, then that’s fine. But surely it would still make sense to put some effort into generating engaging content, right? The kind of content that makes an audience think, and come back for more.  To say that a blog can get by purely on being extremely SEO-savvy without any substantial content is like saying that a band doesn’t need good songs as long as they have a slick marketing campaign behind them, or a videogame doesn’t need solid gameplay as long as the graphics are breath-taking.

Historically, well-written stories have been the key to attracting audiences. People like content that they can relate to, because it means something to them and has some intrinsic value to it. This kind of content helps them learn and provokes thought. Engaging content not only improves the human race by the sharing of ideas, but on a shallower level, it also helps sell stuff. It worked for Shakespeare, it worked for Sorkin, and it will work for the next guy to come up with a terrific story. Good writing has and will always be a good solid foundation for any successful blog, novel, movie, song, or even videogame. It may not be the only winning factor or the key to a quick success, but if the content is good enough, success will follow.

I dunno, I guess I’m just a strong supporter of the concept that “hard work will never fail you”, and I hate get-rich-quick schemes.

I stumbled across a post on another friend’s blog recently, and he shares my sentiments. Check out Alvin’s post on The 2 Ultimate Secrets to Blogging like a Rock Star.

Good writing - engaging readers for longer than you've been around

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

6 responses »

  1. Are you telling me that I could have been making money this whole time? LOL!

    I agree with you buddy. Before even considering making money doing a blog you need to have a solid group of followers that read your stuff. Tricking people is not the way. Hard work is the key then maybe you will be noticed the right way.

    I like your thoughts on this.

    • drewpan says:

      Thanks, Big Mike!

      You’re right about the solid group of followers. At my previous job, I’ve done the whole “blog that gets tons of hits” thing, but right now I’m completely happy with my little personal blog because it gets the little group of genuine readers like you guys, who drop comments and support along the way.

      It might not fuel my bank account, but it certainly fuels my desire to write.

  2. You’re completely right. While his “marketing scheme” might attract lots of attention, they won’t return unless they find the content interesting and enjoyable. I hope to be successful in my blogging by being consistent. Consistent in my writing style, the visual presentation, frequency and size of each post.

    The best way we can learn to improve our blogging is through comments from readers.

    I certainly wouldn’t offer him any more advice. He/she doesn’t seem to take constructive criticism very well.

    • drewpan says:

      Thanks! I think you’re right about consistency. I’d compare it to those gimmick “snack food of the month” food stalls that jump on some gimmick food bandwagon, sell a ton of products, and then closing shop when people get sick of it a couple of months later. Right now I’d prefer a quiet neighborhood shop that’s been serving the community for generations.

  3. Cara Olsen says:

    Drew,

    Fantastic. This post reveals a side of your blogging personality I have yet to see.I immensely enjoyed the thought and attention you put into stressing an issue many of us have found ourselves thinking over at one time. I have similar sentiments as you, and while our blogs are respectively tailored to fit our interests and gifts — yours being a “Soapbox”, bringing witty cynicism, laughter, and the unveiling of stigmas and cliches, and mine existing mainly as a creative outlet for when I’m not editing, and an attempt to spread more of what this world is lacking — they were essentially created for the same purpose: to inspire people. Furthermore, you can see the time and energy that went into creating something aesthetically pleasing, coupled with what is “hopefully” interesting content. 🙂

    “Good writing has and will always be a good solid foundation for any successful blog, novel, movie, song, or even videogame.” Agreed!

    Thank you for sharing this!
    Blessings,
    Cara

    • drewpan says:

      Thanks, Cara!

      Guess all we can do is keep our work going, right? The inspirations are definitely there! I find myself reading blogs just as much as I’m writing, and I think that’s because there are just so many good blogs out there if people were to look for them.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

