My wife and I have been watching a lot of Bones lately. In the past month or so, we’ve managed to go through the first four seasons, and we’re now midway through season five. One common occurrence during all these episodes is that Special Agent Booth will do or say something exceedingly sweet and warm to Bones, and then my wife will absolutely gush and melt, and then ask me why I don’t do things like that.

FBI Special Agent Seeley Booth

However, unlike the whole Bruno Mars debacle, I don’t go ape shit or mind, because it’s Booth and he’s a great character like that. I mean, here are some reasons why he’s a great character:

  1. He’s incredibly loyal to his friends.
  2. He’s really sweet to Bones.
  3. He maintains a very strict sense of morality.
  4. His quest for redemption after killing lots of people as an army sniper.
  5. He has a natural instinct to protect others.
  6. He will sacrifice his own gains for the greater good.

Yep, I think Booth is pretty much just all kinds of awesome.

Rewind about 10 years, and David Boreanaz was still Angel, the vampire with a soul. I never watched Buffy much, but I did watch Angel and I totally loved that character. In many ways, Angel was not much different from Booth.

Angel, the original vampire with a soul

  1. He was incredibly loyal to his friends.
  2. He was really sweet to Cordelia (this was after he broke up with Buffy).
  3. He maintains a very strict sense of morality.
  4. His quest for redemption after killing a whole bunch of people when he was Angelus.
  5. He uses his superhuman powers and charm to protect and help the helpless (unlike some other vampires that use their powers to play baseball and fuck schoolgirls).
  6. He repeatedly sacrifices his chances for love and salvation for the greater good.

I really loved this show, just because of the strength of the main character. Almost every episode ended with his dreams and desires being painfully stripped away from him, or in many cases, he sacrifices them for the greater good. But he’d always get back up and keep fighting the good fight in the next episode.

I swear, it was emotionally-draining and heart wrenching to watch this series, because you just want nothing but the best for this self-sacrificing hero, yet the scriptwriters would always figure out new ways to shit on him and make his life miserable. Every time an episode ended on a down-note like this (which seemed to be every other episode), I’d have to physically vent my frustrations by hurling something into the wall.

TV characters are different from movie characters, because movie characters only have two hours of screen-time to show you what a great guy they are. It’s true that movie characters are generally more epic, as their deeds tend to revolve around saving the world with one great act.

But because of that limited screentime, it’s easy to filter out all the bad stuff that comes with saving the world and all that: their setbacks and moments of despair tended to get cut out in favor of explosive action scenes and slo-motion shots of them shooting two pistols while flying through the air. TV characters get a whole season of about 22 episodes to give you insights into their characters, from their professional life to their personal spaces.

So if you do the math, I’ve seen almost eight seasons of Angel/Booth, which equals to about 132 hours of him being pretty much the most wonderful guy ever. That’s 132 hours of refusing to back down, and always doing the right thing despite being continually shitted on screenwriters. I can’t think of any other character that is this awesome or inspiring. So quite frankly, I think these characters are the perfect father figures for a generation of TV-obsessed youth.

Note: I realize that I’m talking about the characters that David Boreanaz plays, rather than David Boreanaz himself. But “The characters that David Boreanaz plays” is a bit of a mouthful and doesn’t fit as a title.

That said, Boreanaz has done some pretty questionable things, like cheating on his wife with the Queen of Infidelity, Rachel Uchitel (aka Tiger Woods’ mistress), and has been accused of inappropriately sexting, fondling, and sending a picture of his penis to some extra on Bones who wasn’t given the role she was allegedly promised (though I can’t imagine a guy that looks like him will have to resort to harassing employees like some overweight office manager).

But that’s David Boreanaz the actor, and we don’t really know him the way we know Booth and Angel.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

8 responses »

  1. michaeljones909 says:

    I don’t watch much T.V. these days so i can’t comment on bones, but i did see Buffy the vamp slayer,which was way better than the film in my opinion.They just had an array of characters and sometimes they came out with some great sayings like… “sometimes the hardest thing to do in this world is live in it”…That’s just so true!.Jeez i can’t believe i’m admitting to watching buffy haha,i hope nobody see’s this haha!,oh it was a very long time ago and it was probably very very cold out!.

    • drewpan says:

      I must admit I didn’t really watch much Buffy… I only got into the Buffyverse when my friend made me watch Angel with him. But one of these days, I will go back and watch the first three seasons, cos that’s when Angel was still in that show!

  2. topiclessbar says:

    I don’t believe anything negative you say about David Boreanaz, the man. Rumors!

    He’s awesome. Let’s leave it at that.

  3. Great post! BONES is incredibly addicting. We did the same thing that you’re doing by catching up with a weekend marathon. Now we can’t wait for it to come back on in April.

    I think Seeley Booth is a beautifully written and lovingly performed character that has been completely overlooked by everyone except the Peoples Choice Awards.

    • drewpan says:

      Yeah I know! I try to imagine him being played by other similar actors like Aaron Eckhart, but honestly Boreanaz just embodies the character. We just started season 6… the Booth/Bones romance is killing my wife hahaha!

  4. Cara Olsen says:

    This made me smile . . . Thank you. I first fell hard for Mr. D.B when he starred as Angel in “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”. While I have yet to stumble onto the greatness that I hear is “Bones” I have no doubt his role is any less enthralling to watch. Well, maybe a little less enthralling; he was a vampire in that show, and they bite. You really can’t ask for more intensity than that, can you? 🙂 The Hubs and I are looking forward to Netflix-ing or Hulu-ing “Bones” in the near future.

    Blessings,
    Cara

    • drewpan says:

      You know, I didn’t think he could top the Angel character (I was a big vampire fan back then – due to the Anne Rice craze; no Twilight stuff thank you!), but he certainly did with Booth. You know those lovable parts of Angel that you see when he sings karaoke badly, or acts like a giant puppy? He does that a lot more often with Booth, and has as much bite even without his vampire face and that long coat.

      I’d go so far as to say Booth is Angel 2.0! Hahaha start watching Bones soon – you won’t regret it!

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

