Valentine’s Day can be an incredibly depressing day for people who don’t have dates. Actually, it’s one thing to not have a date, but it’s another thing if you were supposed to have a date, but somehow ended up home alone reading your would-be date’s Facebook page as it gets updated with pictures of her with some douchebag drummer and a fancy car instead. And if that wasn’t bad enough, the entire Internet has decided to post pictures of all the flowers, chocolates and other mushy crap that they’ve been receiving from their loved ones. Oh, and the links to Bruno Mars songs.

Feeling like this today?

So for those folks, I feel for you. We’ve all been there before, and here are some songs if you’re feeling Forever Alone.

“If only I’d thought of the right words, I could’ve held onto your heart.”

The Cure is my go-to band when I’m feeling like shit, or when I want to feel like shit. I’ve said it many times before, and I’ll say it again: The Disintegration album has probably killed more teenagers than cigarettes.

“Why don’t you call? Don’t you miss me at all?”

“Everybody needs some time… on their own
Don’t you know you need some time… all alone.”

I wasn’t sure if I should bring out the Guns & Roses, but I can’t see any reason not to see Slash’s epic solo in front of the church.

“Well in case you failed to notice, in case you failed to see
This is my heart bleeding before you, this is me down on my knees.”

This list just wouldn’t be complete with Foolish Games. You know, I’ve heard this song a million times, but this is the first time I’m seeing the video… and seriously WTF? Is this a Jewel or a Madonna video?

“She just goes unnoticed as the crowd passes by
And she’ll pretend to be busy, when inside she just wants to cry.”

Not exactly related to Valentine’s Day or anything, but it captures the Forever Alone feeling all the same.

“Spending my time, watching the days go by 
Feeling so small, I stare at the wall 
Hoping that you think of me too.” 

This song depresses me even more, because Roxette are coming to Singapore and I can’t afford tickets.

“And solitaire’s the only game in town
And every road that takes him, takes him down
And by himself it’s easy to pretend
She’s coming back again.”

No offense to Carpenter fans, but I went with the Sheryl Crowe cover cos I heard this version first.

“When he says the words you’ve been needing to hear, I wish I was him (and) that those words were mine.” 

“But she just drops her pearl-black eyes
And prays to hear him say
“I love you”
But he tells no more lies”

Okay, let’s finish with one more song from The Cure. Because they’re just that good at depressing people.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

6 responses »

  1. Sheena says:

    Just in time for S.A.D. single awareness day. Poop on Valentines day! BTW isn’t Jewel the stuff? I got to see her at the Grand Ole Opry…she’s really really small. Like a wee person…incredible.

  2. I hope you’re feeling better soon. Maybe this will help … http://wp.me/p1se8R-2ok

    Now … Karen Carpenter’s “Solitaire” is the only way to go! 😉

    • drewpan says:

      Hiya! Actually, I had a really good Valentine’s Day with the wifey. Didn’t buy into the hype, and we had a simple but great evening. I still wanted to put up those songs to combat the hype and pressure to have a date on Vday though.

      I did have a listen to Karen Carpenter’s version and it is pretty damn good. But yeah, nostalgia locks me to the Sheryl Crowe version and I thought it might be a good chance to show people a version they might not have heard before.

  3. Cara Olsen says:

    These are some great songs! I loved me some Jewel when I was a young, angsty teen. That was very nice of you to provide the soundtrack for all those lonely individuals with no one to share V-day with, ha!

    • drewpan says:

      Hahahah I still love me some Jewel. Whenever someone attacks my masculinity for listening to Jewel, I always reply with “I’m sensitive, and I’d like to stay that way.”

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

