While riding the trains lately, I’ve been seeing ads for this ballet show called Ballet Revolucion. It looks something like this:

Ballet Revolucion poster

Ballet with ATTITUDE!!!

So basically, it’s ballet, but with topless muscular dudes doing ballet, with a modern twist. Or like, a re-imagining or modern take on ballet, to be more hip and with more attitude… MORE ATTITUDE! I’m not a ballet fan to begin with (I fell asleep watching the ballet version of Romeo and Juliet), but this really kinda irks me in a major way.

I mean, people complain all the time about modern re-imaginings of classic stuff like Total Recall, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, A Nightmare on Elm Street, and Transformers. Why should some modern attitude-in-your-face take on ballet be spared the criticism? Imagine Channing Tatum doing Swan Lake with one of the girls from Glee, where the choreography is all changed to have more street-cred, and the soundtrack is redone by RZA from the Wu-Tang Clan. That’s pretty much how I imagine Ballet Revolucion to be. I don’t even like ballet, but I’m pretty sure that ballet should stay like ballet and not just another Step Up movie.

What do you think? Should ballet be given a modern treatment in a desperate attempt to get the attention of the masses?

Channing Tatum in Step Up

I don't remember seeing this move in Swan Lake...

Maybe I’m just overreacting to an ad that I have to see every day on the way to and from work, but yeah… it just bugs me.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

