I love listening to director commentaries on DVDs. They all fall under one of these categories:

  1. Completely dry and boring – perfect for nights suffering from insomnia
  2. Incredibly informative with lots of technical knowledge – perfect to filmmakers to pick up new skills
  3. A funny commentary track that is just as or more amusing than the movie – either because the guys are funny, or because they’re just so self-obsessed and egotistical

As you can see, all three types of commentaries are useful or perfect for certain occasions, even the boring ones. Seriously, I love John Woo and I think he’s a cinematic genius, but I can never successfully stay awake through one of his commentary tracks – even the ones for my favorite movies! His voice is just so droney, and I am helpless against its sleep-inducing powers.

Can't sleep? Listen to a John Woo DVD commentary!

I bring up commentaries because my brother recently showed me this awesome video of some guys laying a commentary track for their childhood videos.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

2 responses »

  1. michaeljones909 says:

    Hey Drew,i think your wright definitely insomnia material!,I think maybe the people commenting had insomnia when they made these things or they’d been awake for a very llooonngg time

    • drewpan says:

      Hahahaha I would love to believe so, but sadly I think some people just aren’t good at narrating or speaking. Their voices just stay at the same pitch throughout, and droooone.

      What they should do is lay a first pass of the commentary, and then pay Morgan Freeman to record the exact same thing.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

