Every now and then, this song by Charles and Eddie pops up in my head, or I hear it on the radio. It was a big hit back when I was a kid, but even then I was really hung up on this one detail about the song:

Does Eddie do anything aside from saying “Oh yeah” every chorus?

Charles and Eddie

It seems like Charles sings just about everything, while Eddie just sits there playing with his long hair, strutting around on a bridge and then harping in every now and then. If that’s the case, shouldn’t the song be listed as “Charles (feat. Eddie)” instead of “Charles and Eddie”?

Now that I’ve watched the video again after so many years, it does appear that Eddie sings more than just “Oh yeah”… but not really that much more. Yeah he harmonizes a bit, and has maybe 2 lines that he solos himself, but mostly he just brings the “Oh yeah”. But he does bring it with such enthusiasm! Check him out at 2:06.

I wonder if they’ll ever release this song on Lips or something. Singing Eddie’s part will be like playing the drums in Blind Melon’s No Rain.

PS Happy new year, everyone!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

