Compliments are great, right? I mean, it’s always nice to hear someone say something nice about you, or someone close to you. In fact, there probably aren’t enough compliments being given out these days. After all, wouldn’t it be nice to have your boss say “Good job!” more often? Or hear your spouse say “Wow! I’m so proud of you for unlocking the Perfect Freeflow 2.0 achievement in Arkham City!”

But at some point, compliments can get a little bit creepy. My wife is generally considered quite attractive. My friends say it all the time, and it’s completely okay and nice to hear someone say “Hey your wife’s really pretty. You’re a lucky guy!”

But what if someone goes a little bit further than that? Now and then, some guy I hardly know starts to say things that toe the line between compliments and sexual harassment like: “Your wife’s really, really, really hot. Mmm-mmm… I’d totally middle-click her…”

It’s still a compliment, but you’d really rather not have to deal with people saying shit like that, right? It’s not like I’m a jealous guy that’s worried some J-pop fanboy douche is gonna hit on my wife… but it’s just awkward and uncomfortable to deal with. And I just don’t really want to deal with some sleazebag like that, you know? It’s worse if you work in the same office, or have mutual friends.

Would you want this creep over-complimenting your partner?

I guess that all comes with the territory. I remember a line from @shitmydadsays, it goes:

“Pick your furniture like you pick a wife; it should make you feel comfortable and look nice, but not so nice that if someone walks past it they want to steal it.”
– Justin Halpern’s dad

And then there’s this song too, that advises “If you wanna be happy for the rest of your life, never make a pretty woman your wife!”

Or maybe I’m just over-sensitive and paranoid?

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

