Britney Spears and Jason Alexander

Is this the marriage you want?

My wife and I are at the stage in our lives where we are increasingly attending more and more weddings, as friends and cousins get hitched. One thing we’ve noticed is that the music played tends to be more or less the same. It’s always Jason Mraz, it’s always that Bruno Mars song that really shouldn’t be in any sensible wedding… you know the one I’m talking about.

About-to-be-married couples please take note: the chorus of Marry You is romantic enough, but listen to the verses and realize that the marriage described in the song would be something like Britney’s 55-hour marriage to Jason Alexander. In fact, if Britney’s marriage had taken place 7 years later, she totally would’ve played Marry You as she marched down the aisle of a cheap Vegas chapel.

“If you wake up and wanna break up, that’s cool.” – Marry You, Bruno Mars

Anyway, I thought about the kind of songs that I’d like to hear at weddings, so I put together a quick list of not-so-overplayed songs that would be great for weddings.

Meat Loaf – I’d Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That)

Okay, a lot of you have a preoccupation with that “that” is in the song, but really that’s not important. What’s important is that this is an epic rock song, with motorcycles, cops, vampires, and… wait, that’s just the music video. Even so, the lyrics in the song are awesome!

G: Will you cater to every fantasy that I’ve got?
Will you hose me down with holy water, if I get too hot?
Will you take me to places that I’ve never known?

B: I can do that!

For the record, if you listen closely to the lyrics towards the end, he does indeed say what “that” is.

The Cure – Lovesong

There are a lot of good Cure songs to use, but I went with this one for the list. You could throw in Friday I’m In Love, Just Like Heaven, or High too. In fact, you could have quite a few Cure songs in there.

Liz Phair – Favorite

Some day I’ll try to write a post without mentioning Liz Phair, but this isn’t that day and this isn’t that post. Liz Phair’s songs generally involve fucking, cheap sex, and other things you shouldn’t have at a wedding, but this song is really quite sweet. Yes, it’s about her underwear, but think of it as a metaphor! Once you get over the fact that it’s about a pair of panties, it really expresses all the sentiment that you’d want a wedding song to express.

Heather Nova – Avalanche

What good is a marriage if it doesn’t change your life? And here is a song about effecting change (for the better), in a major way with an avalanche. What good is a marriage if it doesn’t change your life? It’ll be like a 3 month celebrity wedding.

Nick Cave – Into My Arms

When Nick Cave isn’t singing about morbidly clubbing Kylie Minogue to death, he can sing some pretty touching songs. I find this one pretty romantic, and he even managed to use the word “interventionist” in a love song.

Roxette – Almost Unreal

This song has the misfortune of being associated with the terrible Mario Brothers live-action movie, but once you get over that it’s got a really nice vibe to it. And it’s really singalong-able to boot.

Bic Runga – Sway

My ex-flatmate used to play Bic Runga all the time, and this was one of those songs that just really got stuck in my head a lot. You can’t really go wrong with soft guitars and vocals either, so stick this in your wedding playlist.

For the record, our wedding video used A Whole New World, and we marched in to some Star Wars music.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

