I love Jerry Maguire. This Cameron Crowe film pretty much ranks there as one of my favorite films of all time, and it’s something I’ve watched so many times. Yet, there’s one lesson from it that I really should’ve learned, but I didn’t when I started my job.

Check it out, see what Renee says at 0:17 into the clip.

I love him for the man he wants to be, and I love him for the man he almost is. – Dorothy Boyd

In this case, Jerry really did become the man that she hoped she’d be, and everyone lived happily ever after. But 90 percent of the time, that phrase should activate alarm bells and make you think really hard about what you’re about to get into. This doesn’t just apply to your love life, but your work life too!

When I left the publishing industry, I did it to become an animator. I couldn’t find a job as one, but I did find a job as a visual effects PA. At the time, I thought I’d go in, learn more about the industry, network a bit, and basically get my foot in the door. After a while, I’d probably get the chance to transfer over to animation and start doing what I really wanted to do.

Well, that was the plan, and it never panned out. One year down the line, and I’m still a PA, I’ve lost a year of my career life, and I’m not any closer to my original goal.

So no, things don’t always turn out the way it did in Jerry Maguire. Most of the time, what you see is what you get, and what you’re getting now is what you’ll get later.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

