The other night, my wife and I watched Child’s Play again. I hadn’t seen this movie since the mid 90s, so it was almost like watching it for the first time as I had forgotten pretty much everything about it. One thing that I didn’t realize till now was just how bad the movie is. Well, bad in a good way. The music was cheesy, the kills were cheesy (how does one person stumble and fall out of a window after getting hit in the head by a hammer?), but Brad Dourif was excellent as Chucky.

Hi, I'm Chucky. Wanna play?

While I was driving home from work the next day, it occurred to me that Chucky would be a great sample to animate a clip to. So I dug around the internet for the infamous “Hi, I’m Chucky. Wanna play?” line and spent a night animating it. The idea I had was to juxtapose two of the Good Guy dolls with Chucky in the middle. The dolls would be badly lip-synched, like an animatronic doll, but Chucky would have proper mouth and lip movements.

Anyway, the result wasn’t quite so hot.

So I re-thought the whole concept, and last night I came up with an entirely new scene that had Chuck sneaking up to kill someone, only to be spotted before acting all innocent. I’d only spent a few hours on it and it’s the first blocking pass, so it’s still pretty rough and needs a lot of polish.

http://vimeo.com/27059419

To-do:

  • Tweak movements, add more natural arcs.
  • Tighten the jump at x172.
  • Take out the foot pivots in his sneak.
About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

