Recently, my wife and I found the Studio 60 DVD boxed set at a DVD clearance sale, so we snapped it up. We didn’t really catch it while it was on the air, so it was a great discount find for us. Not only that, but it turned out to be a pretty excellent show, and by the end of the pilot episode, we were hooked.

Aaron Sorkin’s writing was impeccable, with sharp and snappy dialogue, an ensemble of really likeable characters, and a story that kept us absorbed. At this point, I have to re-emphasize just how great the characters are. Every single one of them is likeable. We had just watched The Sarah Connor Chronicles, so it was an instant comparison between a series where the writers did the amazing feat of making me hate the same characters I cherished through my childhood (Sarah Connor Chronicles) and a series where every character had depth and was sympathetic (even the nasty studio head).

If you haven’t watched this show already, please do so. It should be in a bargain bin somewhere near you.

Studio 60 had a great cast of characters

Sometime during the 3rd or 4th episode, it started really bugging me that that this kick-ass show was cancelled after only one season. I mean, it’s painful to find out that your favorite TV show got cancelled, but it’s worse to watch a TV show that you already know is cancelled. It’s like I had to savor each episode as much as I can, because I already know that there won’t be another season of this.

Why? Because of the usual reason: ratings weren’t high enough.

So it got me thinking: how is it possible that a country with some of the funniest, if not the funniest and best writers in the world, is also filled with a lot more people that has absolutely no sense of humor and interest in good TV? I mean, this is the same country where a TV show like Veronica Mars could be put on hiatus to make room for “The Search for the next Pussycat Doll“. Why is it that there are so many people who like to watch utter garbage on TV, when there are much better alternatives on the air?

I’m not saying that you should cancel the garbage, as there is obviously a market for that… but when the funding for the garbage results in the cancellation of quality programming, then we’ve got a serious problem.

Or maybe I’m just really upset that The Sarah Connor Chronicles got renewed for a second season when Studio 60 didn’t.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

2 responses »

  1. hey i looooved this show .. but no one seemed to really know or talk about it much 😦

    • drewpan says:

      I gotta admit, I had heard about it but never developed the interest to watch it until I saw it at a sale and realized it was an Aaron Sorkin series. There really wasn’t much word of mouth interest here in Singapore.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

