I just got the new Taylor Swift album for Jo, and while I think she’s a really talented singer/songwriter, there are just some things that I can’t really buy about her. Like, singing about trying to get some guy’s attention in songs like Enchanted and Teardrops on my Guitar. It’s touching and well-written, but I’m just not sure if I can believe her when she sings songs like that.

I mean, look at her.

Would someone like this have trouble dating?

Taylor Swift is blond, pretty, with a body that most girls would die(t) painfully for. Am I really supposed to believe that she’s going to be in the leftover crowd at parties? Granted, she’s not the hottest girl in the world or anything, but she’s still undoubtedly fine.

Who wouldn't call her back?

It’s not the first time I’ve felt this way about songs… It was like when Alicia Key sang How Come You Don’t Call Me. I mean, c’mon… it’s Alicia Keys. She’s hot in every sense of the word, even when she was wearing  those silly Fran Drescher Nanny pants during Super Bowl XLII.

Maybe if she put on a crap load of weight and messed up her face with some prosthetics like Charlize Theron in Monster, then it’d be a more plausible scenario. You know, at least for the music video.

Now Kasey Chambers on the other hand, I can totally believe her when she sings “Am I not pretty enough?” Now don’t get me wrong… I’m not saying that Kasey Chambers isn’t attractive. She’s a pretty lass, but she’s just not ridiculously hot like Taylor Swift and Alicia Keys.

Kasey Chambers... not pretty enough?

Or maybe it’s just a matter of geography. Maybe it’s cos not everyone lives in LA. Like, maybe it’s because incredibly hot women are just a dime a dozen in there. As they say in the movie Swingers:

“It’s like the hottest one percent from from all over the world come to our gene pool.”
“Darwinism at it’s best.”

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

3 responses »

  1. max says:

    Yes I feel exactly the same.I don’t know how she sold a million in her first week.She may be huge now but I doubt she’ll have longevity

  2. pascal says:

    There’s a difference between a protagonist and an author. Do you really think, only because *she* is starring in the music video, that it is *her* story, too?
    Come on. If it was so, then Johnny Cash would have killed a man, just to see him die (“Folsom Prison Blues”) and Michael Jackson would have been used to become a werewolf while dating his girl (“Thriller”).

    • drewpan says:

      That’s true… I never thought of it that way.

      It’s weird that I can easily distinguish an actor from his/her character in a movie or TV show, but I never thought to do the same for singers in a song.

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

