I first got into animation by doing a pseudo stop motion video of myself doing some Mortal Kombat stuff. Of all the 2D fighting games out there, the MK series has always been the one I liked the most, mainly because of the sheer amount of ninjas in it. That, and the whole spine-ripping gimmick really grabbed my attention during my childhood.

Anyway, I had these two body mechanic assignments to do: jump over a gap, and someone landing a massive hit. So I combined the two into this one animation of Scorpion ninja-flipping off a tower and onto a bridge, and then uppercutting Sub-Zero off into the spikes below for a Stage Fatality. I did my very best to reference the game’s sprites to recreate the original poses from the first two Mortal Kombat games for some authenticity, but I’m sure nobody really cares about that.

Random fact: I’m also more of a Sub-Zero fan than a Scorpion fan, and I had Scorpion win this fight only because I wanted to do the rope-spear instead of the freeze move. I’m sure you guys care even less about this random fact.

Check out the videos below. It comes in two flavors: rendered, and not-rendered.

As a bonus, here are the two live-action videos of me being a complete ass. The first one is a test shot where I try to recreate Kyo’s R.E.D. kick (silly name for a kungfu kick, btw) from King of Fighters, and the second video is my very first ever attempt at animation.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

