As I gathered our bags and prepared to head into the hospital to induce wifey into labor, a thought crossed my mind:

What am I going to wear?

Now this isn’t anything to do with vanity, but more along the lines of “what kind of imagery do I want our child to see upon entering this world?”

I panicked, because while we’ve been so busy thinking about prams, cots, and all the other important arrangements I completely forgot to think about this. I know it probably isn’t the most important thing in the world and maybe our little Beanie isn’t going to ever remember this moment, but still let’s try to figure this out, right?

After all, maybe what Beanie sees at this moment will affect his/her future. Familiar shapes that provide comfort. Colors that will be subconsciously associated with the first breath.

I went through my wardrobe to pick out some choices. I avoided plain shirts and decided to go with the designs that most represent our likes and personality. In the end I narrowed down my short list to four shirts.

image

The finalists

A Vikings shirt, because that’s my favorite football team and purple is a favorite color of ours.

A storm trooper shirt, because Star Wars is awesome and both wifey and I love the original trilogy. None of that clone trooper nonsense for Beanie!

Sonic the Hedgehog. Probably the most kid friendly design as it’s a cartoon with pleasing round shapes, but also because this is the original 16-bit Sonic, representing the wonderful period of time that is the 90s.

The Tegan and Sara shirt that we got from the concert where Tegan touched our Beanie bump and gave us her blessings.

In the end I decided against the Vikings shirt because football and the Vikings aren’t an integral to our identities. I wasn’t so sure about the storm trooper either as the shapes were probably a bit too abstract.

As for Tegan and Sara, well what it Beanie turns out to be a boy? Beanie might feel that we were hoping for a girl to name after Tegan, and I don’t want him to feel like he’s let us down. Besides, wifey called dibs on wearing that shirt.

So Sonic it is!

Anyway we are resting and waiting in the delivery suite now. Wish us luck!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

5 responses »

  1. tlf says:

    Holy cow! the big day! What shirt you wear is of so little importance – wear anything – seriously. The most important thing is the first song you hear on the way home.

    Ours for kidlet #1 was Todd Rundgrens “When I saw the Light in your Eyes” and 17 years later hubby still refuses to admit it. But it’s something you will share with your child every time the song comes on the radiol

    Good luck – I send your wife a cyber-hug.

  2. zezil says:

    OMG! Can’t wait to see Beanie! :D Have a safe delivery! :)

  3. Your shirt will be important if you are going to be in any photos. So from a photographic point of view, since hospitals are generally white with flourescent lights, I would avoid wearing white. White might also be ummmm…less forgiving of stains.

    I think the Vikings shirt would be inappropriate, unless you’re going to hold your new bundle like a football for a couple of shots.

    Therefore, Sonic is the clear winner.

  4. The secretary says:

    May your wife have a safe delivery and good luck!

  5. Letizia says:

    Lol! You are so sweet and funny, thinking of what to wear. Good luck with the delivery and on being a first time father!

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

