If you’ve been reading my blog, then you’ll undoubtedly realize by now that wifey and I are big fans of Tegan and Sara. I’m sure the repeated posts about them have it away.

Sadly, we have not been able to catch them live, as they have never toured in Singapore before. The closest they’ve come was Australia, but at the time it wasn’t quite economically feasible for us to fly there just for a gig.

Omigod Tegan and Sara tickets!

Omigod Tegan and Sara tickets!

Fan signs FTW!

Fan signs FTW!

That all changed last Monday when they played a gig at Singapore’s Esplanade concert hall. It was incredibly close to Beanie’s popping date, and wifey had declared that if her water broke during the concert, I was not to take her to the hospital until after the encore.

Prompted by a friend, I actually made silly fan signs declaring that if our unborn baby is a girl, we’d name her after Tegan. Wifey vetoed it when she saw the signs though… But with the power of peer pressure we convinced her that it would be fun and it was a once in a lifetime opportunity.

And as for the gig, it was everything we expected it to be. The girls were incredibly lively and funny. And the set list was pretty much perfect, playing virtually all the songs we wanted to hear including a medley of their older songs.

Key highlights were The Con (one of my favorite songs), Back in your head, the amazing medley, and when Tegan let the audience sing the entire first verse and chorus of Call It Off – which they did well, I might add.

Now here’s the kicker: sometime the middle of the set, the girls noticed our signs and based one of their trademark banter sessions on fans who name their kids and pets after Tegan. And then Tegan came down and touched wifey’s baby bump, creating a huge uproar at the venue.

We didn’t manage to get a shot of it, but some wonderful person on uploaded a video onto YouTube with a high angle shot that shows this clearly at 2:07.

Now I wouldn’t be surprised if Tegan and Sara thought this sorta thing was borderline creepy stalker-fan behavior, but if they did they didn’t show it. Plus it really made wifey’s day, and it’s a moment I don’t think either of us will forget. And boy or girl, Beanie will obviously never hear the end of it.

I also got the chance to personally hand them the animation I’d made for them on two thumb drives, so that pretty much made my day too. I myself am rather paranoid and wouldn’t plug a strange USB stick into my computer for fear of viruses or hacks, so I have the feeling they wouldn’t watch it… But one can hope, right?

All in all I’d have to say it was the best concert experience I’ve had up until this point, and I can’t wait for them to return to Singapore!

Front row!

The amazing view from the front row!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order).

8 responses »

  1. zezil says:

    Ohohohoho! That was awesome! :D Beanie must have been raving inside! :D

  2. The Secretary says:

    Never heard of the group, but thanks to your video’s I will be sure to look them up.
    Congrats on getting the recognition in the second video!

    • Drew says:

      Thanks! You should definitely look them up. I honestly cannot recommend them enough. Songs like The Con, Drove Me Wild, Monday Monday Monday are just amazing!

  3. Sounds like an amazing experience. The crowd looks so civilised there. Most concerts I’ve been to, if you are anywhere in the front, you expect to be crushed against the stage and to come home with bruises. Not somewhere I’d stand with a bean bump!

  4. Mitzie Mee says:

    So cool!! I was introduced to Tegan & Sara’s music through your blog, so I know how big a fan you are and how huge it must have been going to that concert:)

  5. Andi says:

    i was standing right next to you the whole time and really was filled with awe that your wife was able to stand all throughout the concert! congrats on the memorable experience. T+S are truly amazing and if they ever come back to Asia I really hope I could catch them again :D

Don't be shy - leave a Reply!

